Blooming Friday-Deserted

Welcome to Blooming Friday! This week’s theme is Deserted. Although I have used two of these photos in my earlier posts, they best sum up the title of this post.

The nests of the weaver birds on a coconut tree. I came across this amazing sight last September in my cousin’s village, which is about 250 kms from where I live.

There must have been about 50 nests on that tree but I didn’t see nor hear a  bird! Weaver birds belong to the family Ploceidae and they are small passerine birds related to the finches. They get their because of the elaborate nests that they weave. The nests vary in size, shape, and material used depending on the species. Most species weave nests with the narrow entrances facing downwards.

Abandoned nests lying on a grassy patch not far from the coconut tree.

To see more posts on Blooming Friday-Deserted head over to Katarina’s   Roses And Stuff.

Hope you have a great Friday!

 

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in birds and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Blooming Friday-Deserted

  1. Gunilla says:

    What a marvellous sight to see all those nests up on the tree.
    It must have been a lot of birds.

    Thanks for sharing

    Have a great weekend
    Gunilla

  2. One says:

    What a sight! I wonder why they are deserted? They should be recycled. 🙂

  3. Anja says:

    Your pictures are very exotic for me as a Scandinavian.
    Really stunning shots!
    Isn’t it fabulous that we can meet ‘in the middle of wold’ – on the blogg;))?!
    /Anja

  4. Madame C says:

    How lovely they are, your photos!
    Thank you for showing us:)
    Ha det gott,
    Charlotta

  5. It is always interesting to see your bnature photos Kanak. I can see them over and over again. I hope you have a great weekend. / Tyra

  6. Lotusleaf says:

    Amazing! I have also come across weaver bird nests, but never abandoned ones.

  7. I liked your photos a lot ! Interesting story too, wonder what happened to them ?
    They are incredible nest-builders anyway. Have a good weekend.
    Lisa/Lisas trädgård

  8. Linda says:

    Awsom! How cool arent that!!!!

  9. Those look amazing – it’s a wonder with the weight of the little birds inside that they don’t fall from the tree as it doesn’t look as if they are attached on very well – but I’m sure if I was up close I would see how well attached they really are. I learned something new today about birds nests Kanak.

  10. Anette says:

    I was amazed when I once saw those nests. Thank you for showing them.
    /Anette

  11. ShySongbird says:

    What amazing constructions they are Kanak, I love the middle photo showing just how many there were. Nature never ceases to amaze me. I do find it puzzling as to how the birds actually stay in them without falling out though!!

  12. Great pictures!! I wonder where the birds were, in the nests or out shopping for more material? I watched a doctmentary on these birds once, so fascinating!!! Maybe you will see the birds one day and show us!

  13. Greate photos! What amazing constructions they are. And just wondering how the birds can stay in the nest… 🙂
    Have a nice weekend!
    //Anna-Karin

  14. birdy says:

    These pictures are looking as cool as they were looking in the early post. Enjoyed going through your previous posts.

  15. Katarina says:

    Amazing shots, kanak! I can imagine the sounds of those birds when they were tending their little ones…
    Have a lovely Sunday!

  16. Jill says:

    that’s so cool! their nests fascinate me!

Leave a Reply

