Today’s Flowers/Flaming Glorybower

Welcome to Today’s Flowers! You can surely tell the clerodendrum species as their stamens seem to reach out to the sky! Blooming on my small vine and in the local public garden that I frequent are the bright red blooms of the Flaming Glorybower/Clerodendrum splendens. Very showy.

Buds waiting to burst open…

This west African native is a semi-woody evergreen vine that climbs by twining. It does well in warm and humid climates and attracts pollinators. The peak flowering season is December/January.

To see more blooms from across the planet, check out http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com

My thanks to the TF team: Santilli, Pupo, Denise, Sandy Carlson

Have a great Sunday!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Today’s Flowers/Flaming Glorybower

  1. Lui says:

    Such lovely blooms! Great capture!

  2. Luna Miranda says:

    gorgeous flower. my grandmother had this flower in her garden when i was a kid, and i never knew its name. thanks for sharing.

  3. Denise says:

    It’s a beauty and thanks so much for sharing these lovely photos with us.

  4. Rosie says:

    Hi kanak7, I thought you are from Malaysia because of your blog name. Glad to get to know you through TF. The plant you are featuring is so healthy. Great photography too.
    Rosie

  5. Modern Mom says:

    I’ve seen those around here. Beautiful shots!

    Thanks for visiting. 🙂

  6. Larry says:

    It is indeed showy… excellent photos! L

  7. Lotusleaf says:

    Great shots! They have started flowering here too. They will flower now till October.

  8. SandyCarlson says:

    Spectacular! Thank you so much.

  9. I’ve never seen these before, so pretty! Sorry I’m so late visiting, I’ve been gone all day. I don’t know of any plants around here that bloom in December.

  10. Thank you, Kanak, for pointing us in the direction of ‘Today’s Flowers’ (love the rich red petals!). Happy Monday!

  11. Stephanie says:

    hey thi s one looks like a smaller kind. Cute and pretty! And I love the colour of the flowers.

  12. Esta espécie de Clerodendrum é uma feliz novidade para mim! Suas flores dispostas em cachos com cores vibrantes a tornam um magnífico arranjo! Adorei conhece-la!!!
    Aqui no meu pequeno jardim tenho a Lágrima-de-Cristo (Clerodendrum thomsonae).
    Fiquei muito feliz com a sua visita ao meu jardim, suas ternas palavras me emocionaram… Obrigada pelo carinho!

  13. Celine says:

    Love these blooms and your shots.

  14. hiraman says:

    I’m from Mumbai and a weekend farmer. I really liked your blog. very interesting. will visit often.

Leave a Reply

