Today’s Flowers/Winter Blooms

Welcome to Today’s Flowers! I’m posting pictures of blooms that you see around this time of the year. All these pictures were taken last year around this time.

A mustard patch near the river bank. The countryside is dotted with yellow mustard blooms in winter. This plot is small but where there are large fields of mustard, the cheery yellow warms your heart!

Prickly pear blooms. A garden that I visited last January had this cactus blooming. What a sight it was to see that lovely red on that green!

To see more flowers from across the world, head over to http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com

My thanks to the TF team: Santilli-Denise-Pupo-Sandy Carlson

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Today’s Flowers/Winter Blooms

  1. One says:

    They are beautiful, bee, flowers and cactus.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Once my friend brought back a seed pod to show me how small mustard seeds are. Also, the photos she took with a patch of mustard plants flowering was awesome. I hope one day I will get to see mustard plant with my own eyes 😉

    • kanak7 says:

      Steph…mustard is pretty common here. You see it’s cultivated for its oil. Rather pungent but it’s popular in our part of the country. We also make a mustard sauce for a particular steamed fish curry.

  3. chubskulit says:

    Lovely sight!

    My flower, have a blessed Sunday!

  4. ShySongbird says:

    My brother used to collect cactus plants when he was quite young and kept them in my mother’s greenhouse, the Prickly Pear had pride of place but all of us were convinced that it laid in wait for us to pass by and then jumped out and speared us with its vicious spikes 😉 Lovely photos Kanak!

  5. Dew Drops says:

    These are beautiful! The cactus flowers are gorgeous and plentiful!

  6. Second picture is my favorite. Love those prickly pear blooms, so beautiful!! I even love that cool shadow that’s in there! Now, what has it got to do with pears?

  7. Enjoying all your lovely shots!
    Thanks for informing me the flower’s name in my post 🙂

  8. You are so lucky to have some flowers blooming this time of year. To me there is always something special about Cactus flowers.

  9. Lotusleaf says:

    Hi Kanak! The Prickly Pear flowers are gorgeous! I have seen only the buds, and always wondered how the flowers look. Oh, I miss the luscious yellow mustard fields of Punjab.

    • kanak7 says:

      Padma…it was wonderful reading up on all the details before I did the post! Although I didn’t mention much, it was great reading up all the info on several sites!

  10. smita says:

    Hi Kanak
    I am back after a most interesting trip to myanmar . The weather and vegetation in Bagan ( central Burma & it’s ancient capital ) is smilar to Assam, while Yangon is ike Cal., though much cleaner .
    Your photos , esp. the bumble-bee on the mustard flower is very good. i am lucky to bea spectator !
    Smita

    • kanak7 says:

      Hi Smita! Wow…that’s great!! I’d love to know more about the trip…hope you start a blog soon! Glad you liked the photos…thank you for leaving a comment here.:)

  11. wendy says:

    Lovely yellow flowers. I like the cactus too. Brightens up the day!

Leave a Reply

