Contrasts

Welcome to Blooming Friday where the theme this week is Contrasts. I have to start with a newly-opened gazania in one of my pots as the heart of the flower is in sharp contrast with its pale petals.

The green cousin of this leafy vegetable is known as White Goosefoot/Chenopodium album. They taste the same and grow into weed-like proportions. Some of these plants have come up on my tomato patch. I don’t pull them up early, I let them grow to a size bigger than this, more like fattening the goose!;) The purple stands out against that pale green. hardly the colour or the look that one usually associates with a weed!!

Most vegetables when placed side by side look most attractive. Here’s a platter of  the hottest chillies in the world and roselle, both red and green. The sour fruit is cooked and added to fish and other dishes. They are also made into jam and jelly.

To see more posts on Blooming Friday, head over to Katarina’s ROSES & STUFF.

Have a great weekend! I leave you with this image of Mother Nature’s most contrasting colours…a black and white dragonfly!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Contrasts

  1. Madame C says:

    Lovely, beautiful pictures!
    Have a nice weekend,
    Charlotta

  2. islandgal246 says:

    That gazania is stunning Kanak! Love the roselle and chilles together. We make a drink and a jam with the roselle we call sorell. You must post a recipe using them, I would love to try it out.

  3. Lotusleaf says:

    Gorgeous pictures. As usual you managed to round it off with the best one!

  4. One says:

    Hi! Love the first and the last photos the most. Really gorgeous shots!

  5. mia says:

    I would had tasted one of your chilies fresh if offered, I true misstake I suppose, but they look so sweet somehow. And Gazania, what a beautiful flower 🙂

  6. joey says:

    Lovely post, dear Kanak, and the last gift of beautiful dragonfly wings. Happy weekend 🙂

  7. Gunilla says:

    Fantastic photos.
    I really enjoy them all.

    have a nice weekend
    Gunilla

  8. easygardener says:

    Beautiful pictures – the Gazania is especially lovely. Have a good weekend!

  9. ShySongbird says:

    The Gazania is beautiful Kanak! Lovely to see the intricate markings on the Dragonfly’s wings too, it always reminds me of stained glass 🙂 Have a lovely weekend!

  10. Lena/isis says:

    Lovely pictures. I like them all. / Lena/isis

  11. Great pictures! Do you grow those hot chilis? The first flower, it looks like the center was painted! And of course I love the dragonflies!

  12. Katarina says:

    Great post! The plate with Chili and Roselle looks very appetizing…

Leave a Reply

