Today’s Flowers/Dahlias

Welcome to Today’s Flowers. Today I’m posting pictures of dahlias blooming in a row on the western side of my house. I grew the single (petalled) variety last year and they attracted several pollinators. This year the dahlias are large and makes my heart “leap up when I behold…….”.  So far I’ve only seen a few bees and a butterfly on these blooms but for a change, that doesn’t really matter!

 

The yellow bud I had posted about two weeks back grew to this size. There’s a faint hint of orange in the petals.

 

 

 

 

 

The view from inside the house (and the not-so-clean window panes).

To see more posts on Today’s Flowers, click here. My thanks to the TF team: Santilli-Pupo-Denise-Sandy Carlson.

Have a great Sunday!!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Today’s Flowers/Dahlias

  1. One says:

    Wonderful flowers. Have they taken over your tomato patch or were the tomatoes on the East side? I am amazed with your bug and flower photos.

  2. Randy Emmitt says:

    Kanak,
    Wow on the first photo! I have not seen a butterfly yet this year. Enjoyed the dahlias, you have done well growing them. Too hot and dry for them to do anything much more than survive.

  3. chubskulit says:

    Very beautiful!

    My flowers for today, have a blessed Sunday!

  4. Luna Miranda says:

    breathtaking photos! dahlias are beautiful.

  5. Dew Drops says:

    These are beautiful! Dalhia’s make such a wonderful show in the garden and I love thier varieties. Bouquets are wonderful when they are full of dalhias.

  6. They are BEAUTIFUL!! That a wonderful surprise to see the first picture with the butterfly, wish I could take pictures like that!! The yellow is my favorite. And I see that bee, too!!

  7. Jeanne says:

    Stunning blooms! Congratulations

  8. Stephanie says:

    Your dahlias are super wonderful! I know the thrill you had when you saw those dahlias. I was so also happy to see mine after I came back from my Chinese New Year break. But the bloom is definitely smaller than yours as mine is a dwarf kind. Nonetheless it is still bigger than when I first bought it 😀

  9. guild-rez says:

    I love your dahlias…
    Great shots!!
    They continue to bloom all summer long in our garden as well.
    Some of my dahlias grow in large flower pots and containers.
    Often I use the lovely flowers in my arrangements.
    – Cheers.

  10. wendy says:

    Dahlias were David’s favourite flower! We had big yellow and red ones on our back deck in the summer time. We planted some in our rock garden too (smaller ones).
    I do love the butterfly resting on the dahlia in the first photo.
    Thanks for posting this; your shots are beautiful.

  11. ShySongbird says:

    All that glorious colour Kanak!! How lovely. I am longing to see butterflies again, I miss them so much in the Winter.

    Lovely photos of beautiful flowers 🙂

  12. Titania says:

    Dear Kanak, such wonderful Dahlias, I understand your joy. Your Dahlias are so flamboyantly happy looking. Everytime you step up the stairs you can happily get a glimpse of them.

  13. Yes, Kanak, your Dahlias are most uplifting. Those vibrant colours are just what we need here on a grey February afternoon in the UK!

    We may not have your rainbow splash of colour, but there are little signs of Spring – though I have yet to see my first 2011 lambs. Good to be reminded of Wordsworth – I seem to have a special affinity with rainbows! My ancestors lived very close to the poet’s Rydal home in the English Lake District.

  14. I love your new header, Kanak!

Leave a Reply

