A New Plant For Me And Some Welcome Rain!

Flowering stock with other plants at the show

Rosie of Leaves and Bloom asked me whether the garden show inspired me. Well, it did and the best thing was coming across a new plant. The stock! To many of you it could be one of the commonest plant ever but I had never seen it before and promptly fell in love with it that some of them had to come back with me!:)

Ladybird on the stock buds

Prized for its spicy scent, stock is a favorite old-fashioned English cut flower and annual (grows just one year) It forms pretty spires of blooms in white, pink, rose, lavender, red and mixes. Plants reach 15 to 36 inches tall and thrive in the cool weather of spring and autumn. Stock is valued for fragrant flowers that can be used as a fresh or dried cut flower. Justifiably popular for beds, borders, cut flowers and they also make magnificent plants for winter flowering in the cold greenhouse. Flowers early summer. A dark blue or purple dye is obtained from the flowers. The seeds are aphrodisiac, bitter, diuretic, expectorant, stimulant, stomachic and tonic. An infusion has been used in the treatment of cancer and when mixed with wine it has been used as an antidote to poisonous bite. Source.

back home with my haul

I’ve planted a few of them next to gerbera daisies and nasturtiums. The fragrance is wonderful and the butterflies are already here…!!!

And talking about nasturtiums, the tiny re-seeders that I found beneath a pile of wood and in a pot are doing well. It’s been raining off and on for the past two days. I’m so glad that our short winter hasn’t bid us goodbye…the showers made sure of that!

My coconut and mango trees are reflected in this pool of water created by the night’s rain. I made sure I got up early to get the raindrops before they disappeared.

I haven’t been very regular with my posts and my blog visits. I’ll be away for a couple of days but I promise to visit you all soon. Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A New Plant For Me And Some Welcome Rain!

  1. Mildred says:

    A delightful post and photos Kanak!

  2. ShySongbird says:

    Hi Kanak, I have just enjoyed looking at all the beautiful blooms on your last post and it makes me dream of Summer πŸ™‚

    Yes, Stocks are an old English favourite, my Mother always grew them, particularly Matthiola bicornis, the Night Scented Stock which she would plant close to the house. The fragrance in the evening, wafting through the open window or door was wonderful!

  3. I just heard of stock last year!! We were at our church’s senior party, and one lady gave each of us a tiny pot with some baby stock stems in it. We planted it, but haven’t seen anything yet. But what is that beautiful pink flower in our last picture, it is my favorite, so delicate and beautiful!!!

  4. Stephanie says:

    I haven’t seen a Stock Plant before. The one you have is pretty! The fragrance is really a bonus. I think all those butterflies will be all over the flowers… I hope they won’t be fighting over these blooms ha ha.. Enjoy the flowers. Your gerbera is marvellous πŸ˜‰

  5. lotusleaf says:

    Stocks are a regular feature of flower shows here too, but I have never been able to grow them. Thanks for the information.

  6. Greenthumb says:

    Stock surely has a lot in stock! The photography as usual is virtuoso.
    Enjoy your outing and a great weekend to you too.

  7. wendy says:

    What lovely flowers. Enjoy your time away.

  8. monmi says:

    hi! it’s wonderful…..n a great feeling whn n anytime u get to see these beautiful,colourful babies!!

Leave a Reply

