A Trip To Shillong…and beyond

A trip to Shillong is always good for us Guwahatians. A three-hour drive takes us from the heat and the dust of the plains to the hills where the air seems much sweeter and the climate, kinder.

As the climb starts you see pine trees all around. This variety of pine grows in the state of Meghalaya and is one of the most distributed pines in Asia. Wiki has a great deal of detail on the Khasi pine.

Plants that do not survive the climate here do well there. It’s difficult to grow camellias in Guwahati although some intrepid nursery owners sell small plants here. I tried growing it once. After one bloom in the height of our winter, the buds simply refused to open up. And slowly, my saga (of trying to grow a camellia) came to its sad end! Since then I haven’t built up enough courage to buy a second plant!:(

A view of the area that we stayed in.

The guest house had a most welcome feel and look. I had already posted the pictures of the sweet peas. One part of the garden had these antirrhinums in bloom. Other plants in bloom were these…..

Some kind of daisies but I’m not sure about the name.

Here’s a closer view. It was late in the afternoon and the blooms were ready to call it a day!

Double calendulas.

A view of the potted plants/bonsai area and ivy on the walls.

Phlox in a delicious shade of red!

And beyond Shillong, on the road less travelled, the views are breathtaking. We stopped at several points to admire the scenery and take tons of photos!

Mist floating in from the valley below….

But my favourite will always be the view of the pine trees. The February and March winds can be strong and unforgiving but to hear the same wind rustling through the pine trees is a magical feeling….

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Places and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Trip To Shillong…and beyond

  1. I loved this post, Kanak, feeling that we were privileged to travel with you along that wonderful ‘road less travelled’. There are strong links between ‘Gwalia’ (Wales) and Khasia … so I’m just about to click the link to find out more about the Khasi pine.

  2. Thanks for taking us along on your trip, everything is so beautiful, and such variety!! The mist, the bonsai, the pines. I think the big camellia tree is my favorite, I don’t think we have any around here, so I have never seen a real one. And I did jut find out that thy bloom in the winter, I never thought that anything bloomed in winter!! Yes, the wind in the pines, a lovely sound!!

  3. lotusleaf says:

    Such a lovely place, and your photos are wonderful. I am looking forward to our trip to Shillong!

  4. jo©o says:

    What a vacation you had.
    So much colour, so many flowers.
    Star of the Veld I reckon, Dimorphotica.
    Tried to grow those without success.
    Your top picture is so beautifully composed.
    With the blue water and the mist in the distrance.

  5. Que lugar lindo! A vista é maravilhosa e as flores são magníficas!

  6. joey says:

    In awe of this stunning post, Kanak! I will never see this beautiful part of the world except through your passionate eyes. Thank you, dear friend, for taking me along.

  7. islandgal246 says:

    I wish I were there visiting with you Kanak. Oh it is such a beautiful spot especially the photos and the way you describe it. I know the feeling trying to grow plants that thrive in cooler climates. Take care my friend and enjoy your spring break!

  8. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, I enjoy when you take trips and share the lovely views with us. I have never had luck growing camellias either. The white flower looks like Osteospermum or African Daisy to me. I had very good luck growing these one year. Hope you have a nice day.

  9. Sharmila says:

    It brought all the memories when i went there several years ago (may be in 2002 ) …. i remember i slept all the way through the road journey as i was feeling nausea – but i remember the lake as my uncle woke me up … stayed in shillong for 10 to 12 days – on our way back saw the mesmerizing sight ‘the floating clouds’ …. it was beautiful !!

    Thanks for sharing … they’re all beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

