Today’s Flowers/The Silk Cotton Trees

Welcome to Today’s Flowers! There’s so much colour in the landscape now as the  silk cotton trees are in full bloom. I saved these photos from my outing to the banks of the Brahmaputra (see one of my recent posts) thinking that the vivid reds and oranges would be good for Sunday’s meme.

I remember posting about these trees last year. The location was different and the trees were older. So you can imagine the number of blooms on the countless branches. You can see the post here.

Although there were several birds on the trees, I only managed to snap this common backyard mynah!:( But isn’t it a JOY to see trees like these?

To see such delightful images, head over to http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com. You won’t be disappointed!! My thanks to the TF team: Santilli-Pupo-Denise-Sandy Carlson.

Have a blessed Sunday!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Today’s Flowers/The Silk Cotton Trees

  1. Arija says:

    Kanak, these are such beautiful trees as whole avenues and single flowers. Thank you for posting them. They are so delicate with the flowers and new leaves as well.

  2. ShySongbird says:

    They are beautiful Kanak, such pretty blossom! I enjoyed seeing the Mynah bird too, I remember when some people here used to keep the poor things in cages 😦 As a child, while waiting for the school bus, I used to hear one regularly ‘talking’ in its cage by the open window of a public house opposite the bus stop. As a child I thought it was wonderful but thankfully the ‘fashion’ for keeping them seems to be gone now.

  3. jo says:

    What an amazing sight: those plumes of red against the blue.

  4. Indrani says:

    Lovely captures all. 🙂

  5. guild-rez says:

    I admire the beautiful tropical trees and flowers.
    Great pictures of the Silk Cotton Tree.
    Thank you for sharing.
    Gisela.

  6. How pretty, and real interesting!! I have never heard of such a thing. Because silk is one thing and cotton is a different thing. So how can it be both silk and cotton? I did click on your link to the earlier post, but Google said it couldn’t find it. I love the pictures, because you are giving me a good look at the different aspects of it!

  7. lotusleaf says:

    Such beautiful pictures! These tree are becoming rare in these parts . I have pillow made form the cotton from this tree, which Is the most comfortable pillow in the house.

  8. arati says:

    this is very beautiful kanak. i’ve only seen the pods, never the flowers of the silk cotton.
    hope you had a wonderful birthday! 🙂

  9. Stephanie says:

    It’s like sakura… only flowers and no leaves. how wonderful!

  10. Titania says:

    Kanak; stunning the flowering exuberance of the tree; I love the last picture, with the spend flower, the lessons of life, so vulnerable, still glowing.

  11. Gostei demais de suas fotos! Árvores com flores contra o céu me fascinam!

  12. Birdy says:

    Hi Kanak!
    You captured these silk trees very beautifully. Spent some time watching your previous posts. They’re really amazing.

  13. Humlans Lott says:

    Wow! What a explosion of colour, so wonderful! Here in Sweden we really long for some colours.

  14. What beautiful trees Kanak! How lovely to see the spring blooms.

Leave a Reply

