“Mangosteoporosis”

Around this time of the year, mango trees are covered with blossoms.  It’s also the time when the wind blows hard bringing with it dust and as old folks would say, ‘the common cold of the mango blooming season’. But seeing the buzz of the pollinators around the fragrant blossoms, and just the sight of the blossoms is enough to make one’s heart sing!

My brother laughed when I told him that my mango tree was stricken with ‘mangosteoporosis’. The result is that it is a drastically reduced version of its former  self and the antithesis of the image that one has of a mango tree: thick, gloriously green foliage with innumerable branches, home to myriad birds and small animals, and a shady ground below.

Four years ago when the March winds blew fast and furious, a branch bearing about twenty-five tender mangoes snapped and unceremoniously fell down. I did go through the why-my-mango-tree phase which took some time to pass. But as if that blow wasn’t enough, the very next year, right after the flowering season, the wind wreaked havoc again. And this time it was another big branch! I suppose that something must be lacking in its innards that every time the wind blows hard it has to break like a brittle bone!

The areca nut tree, its immediate neighbour, sways dangerously during a storm but as soon as the wind fades to a whisper, it stands unscathed, proud and tall. I think my mango tree will take some more years to recover from the brunt. A family of crows had religiously nested on its higher reaches year after year. But now no bird worth its glossy feather will deign to build its Home Tweet Home. At least, not for a while…..

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in garden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Mangosteoporosis”

  1. What a sad story about your lovely tree!!! Our big maple tree in the front yard had to be cut down when it got too sick, I hope yours recovers! I know the birds hope so, too.

  2. jo says:

    I know it is a sad story, but it made me laugh.
    Sorry 🙂
    Actually having a mango tree, any mango tree, even a weak one, sounds phenomenal ot me.
    How many kilos of fruit does one get off one tree?
    Or is that asking ‘how long is a piece of string’?

  3. Ter algumas mangas é melhor do que não ter nenhuma. Obrigada por sua visita, seus comentários e elogios ao meu blog. Mandei pra minha filha suas felicitações! Gosto muito de passear pelo seu blog, Suas fotos são reais, naturais e lindas. Gosto também dos seus textos.

  4. wendy says:

    I hope your mango tree survives. And birds nest in it once again.

  5. Kanak, What a large mango tree you have! I do so love the sweet fruit, but how can you ever harvest it from this tree. I would guess it is time to plant another one so you will have a smaller tree the wind can not whip. Lovely.

  6. guild-rez says:

    Kanak,
    let me thank you for your comment on my mahagony tree post.
    It took me quite a while to figure out what I photographed.
    But looking at the picture again I realized I was standing on top of a small mountain and the picture showed the top of a tree. After that I serached for every tropical tree in my book- bingo – it was an mahagony tree. The other tree I have a picture from is
    a flowering mango tree. Very lovely!! Love to eat mangoes.
    Take care of your tree!! Perhaps cabling your tree would help. There’s no guarantee that a weak crotch won’t split, although cabling will definitely help. But you can stack the odds in your favor by hiring a certified arborist to do the work. This is not a do-it-yourself project.
    Hope this helps with your mango tree too.
    -Cheers Gisela.
    I have another picture of a flowering tropical plant I haven’t identified, but I am working on it.

Leave a Reply

