Today’s Flowers/Two For Joy On The Indian Coral Tree

It’s Sunday and time for Today’s Flowers! Last week I posted pictures of the blooms of the Silk Cotton tree. Another vibrant colour in our landscape comes from the Indian Coral tree or the Corky Coral tree. The botanical name is Erythrina stricta . It’s a medium-sized thorny tree with eye-catching blooms. Although there are several varieties of Erythrina, this one is the most widely grown here.

I had been meaning to go out to the city’s outskirts, scour the skyscapes, and click away at lusher and fuller trees because my neighbour had severely pruned his Coral tree. It’s nothing like what it was last year. But all that changed when I saw these birds going from flower to flower, twittering, no, shrieking with pleasure!

Although the blooms have no smell, they attract bees, wasps, and a host of birds. The blooming period is from January to late March/early April. The spiky blooms look most attractive because the leaves fall before the flowers come. Once the blooming period is over the leaves fill out and the tree goes back to being its plain old self.

Because of its quick growth and suitable bark, this tree is also used as a support for pepper and grape vines. During the summer, the leafy branches provide shade for the vines. In winter, the leaves shed and the vines get the required sunshine. Other uses of the tree is that it is grown as a hedge in villages. The thorns keep the cattle away. The leaves are also used as fodder and the light timber is also used as the wood is durable.

As soon as the mynahs were done, the Asian Pied Starlings landed. The feeding is fast and quick, rapidly moving from bloom to bloom.

To see more posts on Today’s Flowers, go to http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com

My thanks to the TF team- Santilli-Denise-Pupo-Sandy Carlson.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Today’s Flowers/Two For Joy On The Indian Coral Tree

  1. Wow! I noticed right away that the tree is all blooms and no leaves, ao pretty! And the birds, so colorful and different! I’ve never seen any like them.

  2. Loved the blooming Reds!

  3. Carletta says:

    What a lovely unique tree!
    As much as I like the blooms I also love how you’ve captured the birds, especially in flight.

    • kanak7 says:

      Carletta…I have only managed to capture birds in flight a few times. But yesterday…I think I’m getting the hang of it now…after innumerable futile tries!;)

  4. Modern Mom says:

    These are so pretty. Happy Sunday!

    My entry.

  5. guild-rez says:

    WOW – great pictures!!
    Thank you for sharing. Would love to watch the birds.
    During my last vacation I watched hummingbirds feeding on the flowering tree.
    I my book for Tropical Plants the tree is called African Tulip Tree or Trumpet tree.
    (Spathoea Campanulata)

    • kanak7 says:

      Gisela…thank you so much! The African tulip trees are also blooming now but they aren’t bare. They’ve got leaves as well. That’s next on my list as I’m covering the blooming trees of this season. From a distance the blooms look somewhat the same (only somewhat) mainly because of the colour. But they are also extremely beautiful. You might find this site interesting http://www.flowersofindia.net.

  6. Bjørg Nina says:

    Heisann!
    Thanks for today’s lesson. This tree is not known to me, don’t exist in my part of the world ;:OD)

  7. lotusleaf says:

    So lovely! I t is a treat to see your pictures and read the information.

  8. Arija says:

    What an apt combination, an Indian coral tree with an Indian Myna bird, beautiful!

  9. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, I’ve been a little under the weather and I’m behind with blogs. What a beautiful tree and birds. Such vibrant and happy blooms! Hope you have a nice week.

  10. ShySongbird says:

    What a lovely tree! The colour of the blooms is stunning. How nice that it attracts so much bird life too and presumably insects for the birds to feed on. Lovely photos Kanak!

  11. Autumn Belle says:

    The red flowers on a bare tree is such a unique sight. The birds seem to like it.

  12. Susie says:

    Nice pics Kanak and those blooms are great!

  13. Very pretty red blooming flowers! Love seeing the birds, too…

  14. Gosto de passear por seu espaço, pois sempre tem alegrias e cores para alegrar meu dia! Amei as fotos, o movimento dos pássaros nas flores vermelhas desta árvore linda! Obrigada por compartilhar tanta beleza!

  15. Our neighbour’s African coral tree bloomed recently. Now back to boring green leaves, but when in bloom, we see it against our mountain.

  16. Birdy says:

    The cables, let me call them enemies of photographers. Anyhow nice capture. Looks like that these blooms have a lot of treat for birds.

Leave a Reply

