Blooming Friday/Feeling Blue

Welcome to Blooming Friday! I start off my blue post with the Blue Dawn flower/Ipomoea indica. It grows in the wild in my hometown and in hilly areas all across India. It’s also known as the Oceanblue morning glory or Blue morning glory. Reason to feel blue is that it died due to neglect! I was too busy concentrating on other plants that I thought wild ones with their aggressive growth would surely be able to look after themselves!! How could I have known that it had acquired cultivated traits and neglect was certainly not what it wanted?

More reason to feel blue when I look at the photos of the Blue Dawn’s happier days! Here she is, drenched to the skin, soaking up the early morning sun. Photos had to be taken early before the heat took its toll, before the blooms would turn a pale shade of magenta, before they would curl up and eventually, die!

Be sure to visit Katarina @ ROSES AND STUFF for more posts on Feeling Blue!

 

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blooming Friday/Feeling Blue

  1. Autumn Belle says:

    Oceanblue morning glory is a very nice name. Fits this gorgeous flower. Also looks like there’s a lighted bulb in the centre that makes the flower glow. Lovely, lovely!

  2. One says:

    I would have thought this is a hardy plant too. I wonder if it has left some seeds around before its demise.

  3. Anette says:

    A flower I sometimes have in my garden. Doesn´t thrive as in warmer climates.
    /Anette

  4. 😉 We got the same flower…great minds think alike. Happy weekend/ Tyra

  5. Dear Kanak, I know that feeling . . . if only we had paid attention. You will have it again though. Meanwhile what beautiful photos glow across my screen from your former glory!! I love this flowering vine too. Beautiful!

  6. What a georgous, intense blue! We have these here and I love them, though they need something to clomb on. It doesn’t look dead in the first picture yet, maybe it will rejuvenate!

  7. easygardener says:

    They are beautiful flowers. I grow them as annuals over here but they need a good summer to do well. It is always a surprise when a plant dies for no apparent reason – especially the vigorous ones.
    Have a good weekend.

  8. Bjørg Nina says:

    Heisann!

    I long for THIS blue feeling. Have some seeds of this flower, so they will grow in my garden in some months. Have a nice weekend ;:OD)

  9. mia says:

    She’s a beautie being seen aroud here i summer also. I haven’t tried the flower myself but perhaps I should one year, I find climbers so usefull. A little sad story you are telling but I am sure this isn’t happening all that often at your place. Perhaps you should go for a new one 🙂

  10. Suss says:

    So sad that it died 😦 it’s a very nice flower. /Suss

  11. I love this plant and your shots are wonderful. /Randi

  12. Humlan says:

    Oceanblue morning glory… what a lovely name! In Sweden we call it Gryningsvinda so I guess that we just left out the oceanblue.

  13. Andrea says:

    Kanak, haha, maybe they received too much neglect! The hue is lovely, we dont have that color here but only the lavender. They come and go on the roadsides twining on some bushes, as they dry during the long dry season and sprout again come wet season. They have acclimatized to the seasons.

  14. Esta flor azul é muito bonita!

Leave a Reply

