Today’s Flowers

Welcome to Today’s Flowers!  Out of the several gazanias I planted in pots this one turned out to be most colourful. Below, again in a container is a potted dianthus adding a welcome look to the entrance of our house.

I took these pictures of the flowering trips on a trip last month. By now the flowers must be gone but these are what we see around us in the cooler months.

Bare trees with blooms are a common sight till the end of February or early March. I don’t know what this is called but we did see a few of them on the roadside. The shot below of peach blossoms was taken from a slow-moving car.

In the wild, there were several yellow blooms, somewhat like the flowers of the shrimp plant. I had never seen these blooms before but it was a joy to take a road where, at every turn, such delights in flashes of gold or red, or lavender appeared.

To see more posts on Today’s Flowers go to http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com

My thanks to the TF team: Santilli-Pupo-Denise-Sandy Carlson

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Today’s Flowers

  1. Bare trees here, too. Probably till the first of April. Your flowers are wonderful, what a huge splash of color the gazania is!! And I love the dianthus fringed edges.

  2. Regina says:

    Scuh beautiful blooms.
    Have a wonderful springtime.

  3. Bernieh says:

    Lovely flowers … that Gazania is a stunner! Those yellow wildflowers look interesting … especially if their form is similar to the Shrimp plant.

  4. lotusleaf says:

    What stunning blooms on the roadside trees! These don’t flower in our part of the world. Your potted plants are so pretty too.Hope you are having a nice weekend.

  5. I’ve always admired your roadside flowers Kanak and these are no exception. That first one is my absoloute favourite. I love how the colours blend like that together on the petals – it’s so pretty.

  6. One says:

    I like your roadside flowers. Every now and then I see some gorgeous flowers at the road side but have never stopped to take a photo. I don’t carry my camera around. Maybe I should change. 🙂

  7. Your Dianthus look like a pink pillow. Dreamy!

  8. Mildred says:

    All your pictures are so pretty but that Gazania is a work of art. Wishing you a beautiful day.

  9. chubskulit says:

    Gorgeous!

    My flowers for today. H ave a nice week ahead.

  10. Modern Mom says:

    Beautiful blooms.

    My entry.

  11. Chandramouli says:

    Those are lovely blooms, Kanak! Gazania! Do they do well in hot climates? Wanna try ’em here.

  12. Tyra says:

    Gazanias…never heard of it. It is stunning, looks a bit like the Zinnia. / Tyra

  13. wendy says:

    I thought the gazanias looked like our zinnias too. So pretty. And I love the dianthus – they smell so sweet and spicy. Your road-side flowers are lovely. Nice pics.

    I just came back from a trip to St. Maarten, an island in the Caribbean. While in a jewellery shop, I spoke to the owner (he was from India). I told him I had a blogging friend from India who had beautiful flowers in her garden. He asked where and I couldn’t remember. Anyway, just so you know, your friend from Canada was talking about your lovely gardens to someone in the Caribbean.
    Such a small world.
    Take care,

Leave a Reply

