Blooming Friday- False Start

For this Friday’s theme, the best that I can think about is the star fruit sapling that I bought in December with this cluster of flowers. The picture is blurry but this certainly was a false start.  There are only two star fruits on the plant now. My  consolation is that the plant blooms several times a year so there’ll be much of watching and waiting to be done in the coming months…!

To see more posts on Blooming Friday-False Starts, please head over to Katarina’s blog ROSES AND STUFF.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Blooming Friday- False Start

  1. One says:

    My Mom has this plant. It has been flowering and fruiting but we have never eaten them as they will drop off before ripening. The false starts have been going on for years.

  2. I’m very anxious to see the star fruit now!!

  3. wendy says:

    Isn’t that an interesting coincidence. My daughter went to the grocery store to buy some food for the week. They were having a special on Star fruit – an exotic fruit here in Canada. Unfortunately they were sold out, so she wasn’t about to buy any.

    Nice that you posted the flowers. I did not know what they looked like. I hope your 2 star fruits do well.

    • kanak7 says:

      Thanks Wendy! Too bad about the star fruit being sold out that day. I think you get the really sweet ones there. Our region has the sour variety (mostly) but they really good for pickles and chutney.

  4. mia says:

    Star fruit is something I buy to decorate plates with for dinners. Nice to see it’s flowers, never done that before. Strange somehow, how we can buy exotic fruits overhere without thinking of the plant. Seems to be beautiful flowers 🙂

  5. Kanak, I’m sure it will make a proper start very soon…

Leave a Reply

