Today’s Flowers/First Blooms

I’ve been checking out my passion fruit vine nearly everyday for blooms. And the other day this, the first on the vine, stopped me in my tracks!!

Yellow blooms on a calathea. Not sure about the cultivar. I came across these bits of sunshine as I was watering my plants. How had I not even noticed the signs that they’d blossom?

Two days ago I woke up earlier than usual and this was the sight waiting for me! An iris bud about to bloom. When I checked on it later, it had bloomed fully. I’ve had these plants for several years but the first bloom of the year (happens in March) is an occasion!

Walking Iris is so called because the flowering stalks take root after bending over and make contact with the ground. Hence the plants seem to be ‘walking’ all across the garden.

To see more posts on Today’s Flowers, head over to http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com

My thanks to the TF team: Santilli-Pupo-Denise-Sandy Carlson

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Today’s Flowers/First Blooms

  1. Bernieh says:

    Fabulous finds! That’s a lovely coloured bloom on your Calathea and your Iris is just beautiful.

  2. The walking iris is my favorite, it is stunning with the blue and white. I have never heard of this.

  3. joey says:

    All so lovely, dear Kanak. Happy April, dear gardening friend 🙂

  4. lotusleaf says:

    I have never seen a calathea flower. It is beautiful. Lovely pictures of the iris.

  5. Chandramouli says:

    Aaaaaah! The Passion flower! I miss it badly. Lost it to last year’s heat 😦 I haven’t been able to get another one ever since…
    Great photos of the Iris!

  6. Titania says:

    Walking Iris so beautiful, short but so sweet, they work wonders as ground cover. The ground hugging, yellow flowers are enchanting. No bones to pick about passionfruit flowers, they just need to iron out their petals before emerging. LoL, I love them and the fruit, a packet of lusciousness.

  7. Birdy says:

    Walking Iris and passion fruit vine bloom are so beautiful. Never saw or heard about passion fruit before. Do these fruits are edible?

  8. Stephanie says:

    What a wonderful collection of blooms and all so special. The calathea flower is really pretty. I haven’t come across this cultivar here.

  9. wendy says:

    I think your walking iris is fascinating! And pretty too! Thanks for sharing.

  10. daisugi says:

    what a beautiful flower!!! i love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

