Kindred Spirits

I have often read about blog friends meeting each other but I’ve never had the opportunity to meet any. But all that changed on the 11th of this month when I met one of my favourite bloggers. Guess who? Padma aka Lotusleaf of Garden Tropics  came to visit our region for the very first time! There were eight friends with her and they stayed at my new B&B.

You can imagine my excitement from the time I got her mail in January. Immediately I replied that she and her friends could stay with me! Never mind that the rooms were not furnished then. We kept mailing each other and it was all about the places that they could possibly visit. Finally, the itinerary was chalked out by her after a lot of research. Not even once did she ask me anything about the rooms…size/ comforts/etc… Meanwhile my husband and I worked in a frenzy to complete the rooms and provide the basics. Whereas he oversaw the final touches being put to the cupboards and the bathroom fittings I looked around and shopped for the sheets, the towels, et al.

Finally the big day arrived and meeting Padma was like meeting an old friend. It was as if we’d known each other for ages. She’s gentle, soft-spoken, warm-hearted, the same that I can sense when I read her blog posts. We both started talking all at once…there was so much to catch up….!!!

There were beautiful gifts that Padma brought including  a Chinese painting (above) and bromeliads from her lush garden in the southern city of Bangalore. I feel truly blessed and I’m thankful for this friendship through blogging. My other blog friends, you hold a special place in my heart too!! As the years pass, I hope I’ll meet several blog friends. Especially with those that I feel a special connection. This meeting makes it all seem so possible…it’s just a matter of time, me thinks!

Vanitha,Anitha, and Susan (face not seen) admiring some of my plants.

Padma’s colleagues and travel companions were great! In the short time that they spent with me, we shared a wonderful rapport. So Vasantha, Gayatri, Susan,Vanitha, Anitha, Suma, Pratibha, Asha…it was lovely having you  over and I hope you’ll come and stay with us again!!

Our B&B would have been ready by June but Padma’s mail hastened (in a positive way) the process. When she called up this morning I told her that one does not realize how one can indirectly affect someone else’s life. Meeting like this is special but to start a new project, that too with a friend from blogdom, well, can you beat that?:-))

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Occasion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Kindred Spirits

  1. Mildred says:

    What a wonderful opportunity to meet friends. I know they enjoyed your B&B and your magnificent gardens.

    • kanak7 says:

      Mildred, thanks! My garden is small but they liked going through the entire range of plants that I grow! To them the size didn’t seem to matter at all!!

  2. Susie says:

    Sounds like an absolutely wonderful time Kanak. Good luck with the new B & B. Hope it works out great for you!

  3. joey says:

    Such a happy post, dear Kanak. Kindred sprits are grand. Good luck with your new B & B … anxious to hear more.

  4. lotusleaf says:

    Kanak, what nice things you have written about me! Thank you, my friend. I hope quite soon you will come and visit me in Bangalore. Your house and the garden are beautiful! Wish you the best of luck in your new B&B!

  5. islandgal246 says:

    Oh Kanak! what an experience! I too felt that way when I met up with Meems in Florida. Reading your post gave me goosebumps. Owning my own B&B is another dream in the pipes for me. If ever I get to your part of the world I know where to book a room. I can imagine the meeting with you and Lotusleaf. With Meems and I we were chatting like magpies nonstop. This is my favorite post ever! You should show us some photos of your B&B.

    • kanak7 says:

      Helen…I’ll put up some photos later. I still remember the time you met Meems…oh, that’s one post I won’t forget!! You’re very welcome to stay here whenever you visit our country. Now the north east must be on your list!!

  6. What a truly amazing story, Kanak! And as for the rest of us, well, we can all enjoy your B&B (& garden suite!) in a ‘virtual’ way!

  7. So you are running a B&B now!!! We have friends who are doing that now, so many rules and regulations! It is not an easy job. It is so wonderful meeting other bloggers, I have met three so far and it’s a real joy, glad you all had such a great time!

    • kanak7 says:

      Ginny, I know it’s very challenging but since we had a few extra rooms, we went ahead. I hope I can tempt more bloggers to come and visit our region!! BTW, I’ve always enjoyed reading about you meeting other blog friends.

  8. Shailaja says:

    I was thrilled to read about the meeting of two of my favourite bloggers! Blogging, B&B, bromeliads……..lovely:))

  9. Titania says:

    Dear Kanak, I am very happy for you to have met a friend from blogging. It sounds you all had a marvelous time. Good luck with your B&B. India is such a huge country so its fantastic to meet blogging friend from other regions. I will just have do with virtual visits for the moment! But this is very nice too. Best wishes Trudi.

  10. Stephanie says:

    Way to go Kanak! I love your idea to connect this way. Padma’s friends look happy. I am sure you have been a good host. I hope to meet you one day also. I will write you when the time comes. Meanwhile, I hope many will discover your B&B. PS: Warm regards to Padma 😉

  11. arati says:

    this is so nice kanak! i saw lotusleaf’s post about her trip on her site. it is such a joy to meet a nature blogging friend!
    good luck with your B&B. does it have a garden? 🙂

  12. wendy says:

    Hi Kanak, How wonderful to connect with a fellow blogger – and her friends too! I love to read about blogger friends who are able to visit one another. It’s such a special connection. And I’m glad you were able to get your B&B up and running and I wish you every success with this.

    If I ever visit India, I would love to stay at your B&B and walk in your treasured gardens. I am learning so much from you. I knew nothing about gardens in India. In fact, I don’t really know all that much about India at all, except what we read in the newspapers and that’s usually sensational news (and not very good).

    I hope you will still have some time to blog, although with a brand-new business venture, it might be hard.
    Sending you hugs from a long, long way!

  13. Chandramouli says:

    It’s so nice to meet bloggers. I think Padma’s lucky!

  14. That flower looks like a giant pillow. Wow.
    Glad you made the connection, I was lucky to meet Sandy Carlson one time.

  15. Andrea says:

    Wow that is great, i think you will have many visitors from this day onwards. Your garden will be a great come-on for your BB business. Maybe it’s good to call it BBBB or 4B’s: Bloggers’ Bed and Breakfast, haha! Congratulations on your new business, which i am sure will inspire you to beautify your garden more. I forgot your place in the NE, sometimes i exchange my Indian blogging friends who is where, or who is who! Am sorry about that. I just always remember you, Kanak as Terra Farmer. Now i forgot the name of Ever Green Tree, maybe she is Radhika, haha! I hope i can stay in your B&B next time too! BTW, i love that hibiscus, it is not yet represented in my previous collage of hibiscus colors! I forgot if you saw it too.

Leave a Reply

