A Mangoey Post!

Mangoes from my tree are still green but the ripe ones are beginning to flood the markets now. Soon it’s going to be mango-this and mango-that but the first ones that you taste are special. Like the salad I made the other day with carrots, cucumber, tomatoes, mint and pieces of mango. the dressing was a mix of salt, sugar, pepper, and olive oil.

Because it was the first ripe mango (from the market) of the year, somehow the smell and the taste seemed sweeter. The season’s firsts are always special, aren’t they?

And our weather is just right for  sweet and sour raw mango chutney. Freshly grated raw mango mixed with salt, sugar, chopped green chillies, and mint! The taste is most refreshing! Especially on one of our humid afternoons when you long for rain….

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in fruit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Mangoey Post!

  1. Shailaja says:

    You are right, one can never have enough of mangoes. And who can resist the mango chutney when it is served in just the right bowl as you’ve done!

  2. One says:

    I love the taste of mangoes. I have 3 trees but so far only one has been fruiting. Your photos are wonderful. The 3rd one is outstanding. I should try out the salad you shared. Sounds healthy and yummy.

  3. islandgal246 says:

    Kanak my mouth is watering and yearning to taste the first mangoes but I still have to wait. Mine are still babies. That chutney would go well with accras (cod fish cakes). Drooling in Barbados.

  4. How lovely everything looks!! How very cool that you can just pick your own mangos!!

  5. ShySongbird says:

    Hi Kanak, Mangoes! How lovely, you have made my mouth water 😉 and your salad looked delicious.

    It must be wonderful to have your own tree and be able to pick them fresh 🙂

  6. ShySongbird says:

    Kanak, I forgot to say I hope you have a lovely Mother’s Day, we had ours (although it is officially called Mothering Sunday in the UK) on April 3rd, it always falls on the fourth Sunday in Lent 🙂

  7. wendy says:

    Wow – your own mango tree! How lucky you are. Your chutney looks delicious too. Thanks for sharing. I took a little taste when you weren’t looking. LOL!

    And yes, – Happy Mother’s Day to you too.

  8. I just adore mango, Kanak. We have some for this evening – tree ripened – but sadly not from any tree we might have! Thank you for visiting my blog.

  9. birdy says:

    Never taste mango chutney, but I can imagine, that it will be very spicy. I think we have to wait for about two weeks to have tree ripened sweet mangoes in the market.

Leave a Reply

