The Showy Cleome

A plant that looked vaguely familiar recently made an appearance on one side of my yard. Since I don’t pull up each and every weed ( that was what I had presumed then) before finding out how the flowers turn out, I was rewarded with these blooms! The Spider flower or the Cleome. I had it blooming more than a year ago in the wild area of my small garden. But there was no sign of it last year. Maybe the seeds got buried and had to go into forced hibernation!!

I have seen a few bees and wasps on these showy blooms but I haven’t managed a decent insect photo yet! There’s a faint fragrance in the evenings, maybe other cultivars have a stronger scent.

The plant in the wild area as well as the swallowtail butterfly resting on a cleome leaf were taken nearly two years ago. Cleomes love the sun and it’s a common feature in the open countryside to see numerous plants in a riot of pinks!  Especially on the edge of water bodies. Another good thing is that these plants are not infested by damaging insects. It  feels like being rewarded to find a reseeder when you least expect one. Now I’m enjoying my days of cleome!!:)

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Showy Cleome

  1. What a strange and beautiful flower, Kanak.

  2. One says:

    As far as I know, it should a weed. But weeds can be beautiful. I grow weeds like cosmos. Haven’t been lucky enough to find cleome appearing yet.

    • kanak7 says:

      One, I won’t mind cosmos springing up surprises like that. But it’s a plant that does not grow in such proportions…haven’t seen it in the wild here.

  3. joey says:

    A beautiful gift, Kanak! Love cleome … always in my mother’s garden and once in mine before taking up too much room in my waning sun garden. Pick and choose is hard ’cause she’s a beauty!

  4. Stephanie says:

    You know what… I thought I pulled out a plant yesterday. I thought it was a weed. I should have read this post earlier!! That’s a pretty cleome!!! Enjoy the weekend.

  5. lotusleaf says:

    I have pink cleome whose seedlings appear in unexpected places.

    • kanak7 says:

      Padma….I’ll keep that in mind. It’s just that the foliage of other plants are more recognizable….now the cleome has come part of that category too!;)

  6. arati says:

    i love the lavendar and purple on the cleome. it is such a curious looking flower

  7. Ms. Burrito says:

    Gorgeous blooms!

    Poppies, have a blessed Sunday!

Leave a Reply

