Sunset Tower

Once in a while I get creative around my garden. The inspiration, no doubt, comes from the several gardening blogs that I read . Well, in 2009 I read a blogpost about using a PVC as a planter. The idea of having so many plants in a compact space made sense! I never really got around to actually making it happen but that post never really left my mind. Since I had two pipes lying around our shed, I thought I’d put one to good use. In April, the idea became a reality. Although I thought of several other plants I knew I had to choose one that would not crave for attention all the time. Finally I chose the sunset bells/Chrysothemis pulchella. It helped that they were sprouting all across my garden, their shiny dark leaves making a statement against the rest of the (mostly) green foliage that I have.

Here’s how the PVC looked the day the sunset bells were planted. I used that wonderfully rich black soil from the Brahmaputra. When certain areas of the river turn shallow in winter, the soil from the river bed is collected and sold in nurseries across town. I mixed the soil with compost and some cow manure. The photo below shows the smaller pipe with several perforations. That goes right in the middle of the large pipe. The idea is that when you water the plants through the small pipe (no soil goes in here) the water will seep through all the openings onto the plants. But I’ve found out that it doesn’t quite work that way. The water goes much too fast so now I prefer to spray water on all the plants. It’s so hot now that I need to spritz the leaves at least twice a day. From the photo above you can see the signs of the soil getting washed away. The first week I was extra careful with the watering.

Drilling the holes was tough but one of my off-and-on helpers did a good job and I’m quite happy with the way the ‘tower’ is looking.

The smaller pipe has severalThe smaller pipe has innumerable perforations.

Most of the sunset bells are doing well and in another fortnight or so, the dominant colours in these plants will be the vivid oranges and yellows. Hmm…now that I still have another PVC lying in the shed, I’m thinking… a towering herb garden would be nice. What do you say?:)

To see Tina’s (In the Garden) post that inspired me, here’s the link.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunset Tower

  1. Well, I’ve never seen anything quite like it! Did the pipe come with the holes already in it? I love your term Sunset Tower!

  2. birdy says:

    Never saw anyone using a PVC as a planter. Nice idea, I think its worth trying. Your plants are looking healthy and beautiful.

  3. lotusleaf says:

    What a wonderful idea for a vertical garden, Kanak! Your sunset bells are looking fabulous. Their dark leaves and bright flowers are a contrast to the pale colour of the pipe. Thanks for sharing the idea.

  4. Andrea says:

    A good idea, they are doing that with strawberry, because you have colder climate maybe you can try that. However i think if i will do that i will insert some coco choir below every hole so the soil will be more contained near the hole, just like inserting some pouches. Or else the soil above each plant will perpetually drop on the plants below. Maybe the inner pipe can be fitted with choir dust, that is much better so will keep moisture well and you need not water on the holes.

  5. Jeanne says:

    This tower is beautiful, including the name. It will be glorious when it’s covered with sunset bells.

  6. Natti says:

    An amazing idea. Read this in other places but never thought about getting it done. This is now giving me some ideas for activities over the next couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

