Today’s Flowers/Clusters Of Gold

Welcome to Today’s Flowers! Since I post pictures of the summer flowering trees every year I thought I’d give it a miss this year. But the sight of these blooms will make any blogger stand, stare, and click away. And that’s what I did! I felt they were all calling out my name…:)

The Indian Laburnum/ Cassia fistula blooms during this period along with the other spectacular tree, the Flamboyant tree/ Delonix regia. Roadsides and the hills dotting the city are a blaze of reds, yellows, and pinks. The last comes from another variety of cassia. This yellow flowering tree is also known as the Golden Shower tree. In Assamese, it’s called Sonaru which means “golden”. In Hindi, it’s called Amaltas. How widespread the tree is in India can be known from the fact that it has a name in almost every Indian language! If you’d like to read more details about this tree, you can click here.

On another side of town, the glitter of gold has begun to wear off. You can see the paler version of that yellow. It’s a tree that grows up to 40 feet tall. The wood is used for making furniture. And the fragrant blooms attract the bees and the butterflies.

To see the most beautiful blooms go to Today’s Flowers. My thanks to the TF team:

Santilli-Pupo-Denise-Sandy Carlson

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Flowering Trees and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Today’s Flowers/Clusters Of Gold

  1. Wow! They are gorgeous n happen to be one of my summer Fav’s. Just love them.

  2. lotusleaf says:

    Our Amaltas trees have finished flowering in April, in time for Vishu festival in Kerala on April 14. They do look splendid, and I can imagine your thrill on seeing a tree in full bloom!

  3. One says:

    I saw this sight recently and thought I heard them calling me too. I only had my handphone to take some miserable shots. The flowers are amazing.

  4. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, Oh, what a beautiful tree! You cannot help but stop and enjoy the magnificent blooms! Thank you for sharing part of your world today.

  5. Titania says:

    I love the gold in the garden. The Cassia fistula trees are real show stoppers when in bloom. I have never really exceeded to take such good photos as yours. Many cassias are here in bloom now and I like their strong colour
    between the greenery.Some are called by the funny folksy name of pudding pipe tree (I guess vanilla bean tree).

  6. such a lovely golden glow these blossoming trees add to the street.

  7. Pupo - Brasil says:

    Cassia is a beautiful tree with a lot of flowers.
    Thank you for your participation.

  8. thank you for your kind comment on my blog:-)

  9. Modern Mom says:

    Gorgeous clusters of gold.

    My entry.

  10. Denise says:

    I am so happy you shared these with us today, those blooms are absolutely stunning. I wouldn’t have been able to pass those up either. Great photos or very gorgeous blooms!

  11. April says:

    How lucky to be near such a beautiful tree. I think you can never have enough pictures of these wonderful flowers.

  12. Indrani says:

    The tree is overflowing with flowers. Lovely.

  13. islandgal246 says:

    Kanak I know the feeling when a tree like this is in bloom. I always think I have enough photographs but there is always room for another one that looks so much better. Just gorgeous and can never get tired of seeing these trees in bloom!

  14. Luna Miranda says:

    the yellow blossoms are absolutely gorgeous! i took photos of the same flower a few weeks ago.

  15. Golden Showers says it perfectly!!

  16. pretty golden yellow shower

  17. WoW! The Indian Laburnum is a gorgeous tree when it’s in bloom!

  18. Anita says:

    The Golden Shower tree in bloom is a sight to behold. You are right when you say that no blogger can resist clicking away when they come across this one. I posted one on my blog too, but the shot isn’t as beautiful as yours.

  19. Boonie says:

    These are absolutely beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing.
    All the best, Boonie

  20. Arija says:

    Hi Kanak, these trees are so beautiful one cannot but smile to see them. We also have native Cassias, just not in our region at this time of year.

    Your garden must be an absolute picture.

  21. Judy says:

    I love those blossoms! The colour, and the size of the flower cluster!!! And to have them all over the place! That would be so cool!
    I love the water hen further down the page, too!

  22. I just thought that must be some type of laburnum – I have one growing in my garden called ‘vossi’ though the shape of the flowers is alittle different. What beautiful captures Kanak – so glad you posted them πŸ™‚

  23. emille says:

    Wonder if this is what we call in Holland the Golden Rain tree…Beautiful!

  24. Meghana says:

    Hi Kanak I have been following your blog for a while now and love it, though I have never written to you before. My mother and I dabble in a little gardening ourselves, albeit not always successfully πŸ™‚ I happened to visit Sri Lanka recently, and this tree is called Vesak there. It happens to be holy to them and is planted in every Buddhidt temple/monastery. Lovely pictures! Thank you for posting.

    • kanak7 says:

      Hi Meghana…so delighted to read your comment! Thank you for following my blog. Glad you shared about your visit to Sri Lanka…that bit is new to me. So interesting! I hope you’ll continue visiting!

      Happy gardening to you and your mom!:-)

Leave a Reply

