The Night Blooming Jasmine

Some of you had commented that you were not familiar with this plant after seeing the picture of the blooms in my last post…….

My Night Blooming Jasmine/Cestrum nocturnum is almost done with this year’s first flush of blooming. It grows in a sunny spot on the western part of my yard. After all that pruning last year, the blooms are something to be proud of this year. The shrub is about five and a half feet tall and I plan to keep it that way. The blooms are creamy and are produced in clusters, drooping down the branch on account of their weight. It is only during the night that the sweet, heady smell of the blooms is released. No wonder the plant is known as Raat ki Rani in Hindi. It means Queen Of The Night.

 

 

The tiny blooms remain open till about mid-morning. The plant produces three or four flushes of blooms in a year. After the flowering the plant produces tiny, white, poisonous berries. This native of the West Indies has weak stems so either staking or a trellis is important. Propagation is best through cuttings. And the rainy season is the best time for propagating this plant. But feeding the plant must be done after the monsoon is over. Here’s what I found in an old magazine about planting the night-blooming jasmine.

If you intend to grow the plant in the ground, dig a 60 cm. x 60 cm. pit that is 60 cm. deep. Fill it with a mixture of soil and manure: one part of well decomposed cow dung manure mixed with three parts of garden soil. The same soil and manure mixture can be used for planting in the pots or tubs. For better results add two handfuls of oil cake and one handful of bone meal to the mixture.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Fragrant Blooms and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Night Blooming Jasmine

  1. One says:

    I recognize this as Cestrum. They smell very good. I didn’t recognize this in your earlier post because you must have taken the shot from a different angle. To me, the flowers always droop down.

    Thanks for your votes. I really appreciate it.

  2. This plant is just charming. It is associated with romance here, and is put in perfumes. I have heard that moths pollinate the night blooming plants.

    • kanak7 says:

      That’s right Ginny. I planted quite a few four o’clock plants so that I might be able to photograph a few hummingbird moths but no luck so far!:(

  3. Anita says:

    Wish you could post the scent of the flower too. It’s been so long since I’ve come across the night jasmine and your post has refreshed my memory about the flower and its lovely scent.

    • kanak7 says:

      Anita…I’m glad this has refreshed your memory. I walk around my front yard every evening so that I can savour the aroma…it’s short-lived so might as well make the most of it. As I write this only a few blooms remain but the Rangoon Creeper is going strong…

Leave a Reply

