Watery Wednesday/Leafy Shelter

An Emigrant finds shelter under the leaf of a Spicy Jatropha / Jatropha integerrima.

Late in the afternoon, I had noticed this butterfly on the leaf, on the upper side. It wasn’t raining then. In the morning we woke up to rain and I went to check my winged visitor and there it was under a leaf, dotted with tiny droplets of rain. Even one of the antennae had two little drops of water. I took a few shots all the while hoping that I wouldn’t scare it away. I needn’t have worried because it stayed still and simply looked into the camera with those big, big eyes!:)

For more watery images, click here. My thanks to 2sweetnsaxy for hosting this fun meme.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Watery Wednesday/Leafy Shelter

  1. lotusleaf says:

    Exqusite photos, Kanak! The butterfly must have been enjoying its shower!

  2. Mildred says:

    An amazing capture, Kanak. Thank you for sharing!

  3. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    “an emigrant”

    What a delightful description for this moth or butterfly!

    IT DOESN’T TAKE AN OCEAN

    It doesn’t take an ocean
    Or a mighty sea,
    A simple little raindrop
    Is enough for me!

    I also like the jewels
    Scattered in the grass
    After summer thunderstorms
    Soak the earth and pass.

    And then there’s perspiration
    Clinging to a nose—
    A sign of honest labor,
    Or so I suppose!

    Wonderful, most wonderful,
    Are the seven seas,
    But give me downy snowflakes
    Clinging to the trees!

    © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher

    Papaoneone Beach

  4. He looks like the white bloom of a flower on those leaves!

  5. Georgia says:

    omg those are amazing photos!!!!!!!!!! so impressed :0)

  6. 2sweetnsaxy says:

    What an awesome find and capture. I’ve never seen a wet butterfly!

  7. joey says:

    Water sustains us all. So enjoyed catchin’ up and listening to music on last post! Happy Summer, dear Kanak 🙂

  8. stardust says:

    The words “Exquisitely beautiful” exist for this butterfly with delicate wings covered with jewel-like droplets and for these breathtaking photos, I think. I myself would like to take pictures like these. Thank you for sharing.

  9. Luna Miranda says:

    i once visited a butterfly farm, and it was a rainy afternoon. didn’t see any butterfly, not even one. the caretaker later told me that butterflies hide when it’s raining.:p great capture of this white beauty.

  10. Hootin' Anni says:

    Beautiful….I am not sure, but I THINK I see small water droplets on his antenna on the top photo?

    1st day of Summer Photos is my link for Watery Wednesday. Come join me if you have time!

  11. mom of M&MS says:

    BEautiful capture!!!

  12. Lucky you that it posed for for you! Wonderful shots!

  13. leovi says:

    Beautiful shot of this butterfly

  14. ShySongbird says:

    It is beautiful Kanak, so delicate and ethereal looking.

    I think it might be quite dangerous for butterflies if they get too wet so it was wise to shelter 🙂

Leave a Reply

