Garden Update

Over the years, especially after I started blogging, I have added quite a few plants with flowers that are fragrant. Now’s the turn of the Rangoon Creeper/ Quisqualis indica to put on a show and spread its heady fragrance in my small garden. Oh, how I love to walk about my yard in the evenings. The few fruit trees that I have are laden with fruit. Lizards, frogs,birds, and other delightful winged creatures make the most of what they find in the daytime. But it’s too hot now to be outside with the temps soaring to relentless heights. But in the evenings, when a light breeze blows carrying with it the hint of more rain, it’s a pleasure to be outside.A bit of information on this plant. The Rangoon Creeper is a woody climber that blooms profusely during the summer months. When the buds appear, they are pinkish. The blooms are off-white. Gradually they turn pink and then a vibrant shade of dark pink. It does well in sunny spots and most gardens have them because they are very easy to grow. There is an white variety of this shrub but I have seen them in Delhi but not in our region. The plant needs to be pruned from time to time to keep its growth in check. I pruned mine last year. My little round patch near the front door has been cleared of petunias and nasturtiums. A few gerbera daisies bloom and I’ve planted portulaca. I use a lot of spider plants and spider plant look-alikes. When there are no flowers, foliage helps. I was delighted to see a frog on the small mussaenda plant on one of my nightly strolls.

 

 

One of my  basil plants is blooming now. I got the seeds because I liked the colour of the blooms but the leaves are too pungent for my liking. It helps in bringing those tiny bees and wasps to my garden, again and again.

Indian blackberry/Syzygium cumini

After mentioning the fruits that I have, and not including a photo wouldn’t have been right. Here’s an image of the summer berries, rain-drenched and waiting to be relished!

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Garden Update

  1. Dave says:

    Photography is great but having the fragrance of the flower as well must be even better. Lovely post. Daves photo views

  2. What a cute little frog! Are you using the basil in cooking? I love basil!

  3. Anita says:

    Wow, you have the Jamun (Indian blackberry) tree. I just introduced the fruit to my toddler last week; he was so delighted to see his tongue go purple after eating it.

  4. Lotusleaf says:

    That little tree gave so many Jamuns! Your garden looks even more beautifful now!

  5. hiraman says:

    Your garden with those blooms looks awesome. we living in cities pine for such things and so escape to hills. Living among these I can only dream of and even makes me envious. thnks fo sharing those fabulous pictures of your ‘natural’ friends.

Leave a Reply

