Today’s Flowers/Portulacas

Welcome to Today’s Flowers! My small bed of portulaca is in full bloom now. The bees and the hoverflies have never had it so good!

The usual sightings in the mornings. In this August heat the blooms close early. It’s only on cloudy days that the insects have a prolonged “happy hour”!!

To see the most beautiful flowers from across the world, visit http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com

My thanks to the TF team: Santilli-Pupo-Denise-Sandy Carlson

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Today’s Flowers/Portulacas

  1. Sharmila says:

    Love those colorful portulaca … esp the yellow ones (2nd pic.) i too have them – but only two varities (dark pink n pink n white mix). Have a lovely sunday !!

    Thanks for liking my new blog look – i too love it πŸ™‚

  2. lotusleaf says:

    Kanak, your portulacas are so pretty. the colours complement each other. Thanks for your mail. I have sent a reply.

  3. arati says:

    oh kanak, this is such a pretty shot! i love portulacas, they always make me smile.
    and that is a lovely banner you have up

  4. Luna Miranda says:

    a lovely riot of colors! we have these flowers here, too.

  5. lovely garden…very happy bees!

  6. One says:

    Lovely flowers and lovely bees! I notice you have many different colours but not orange. I have the orange one. I used to have many different varieties but some have disappeared…including the bees. πŸ™‚

  7. radha says:

    What lovely colours! No wonder the bees like them too.

  8. I wonder if we have these in this country? I have never seen any and I have never heard of them, so pretty! That insect has a beautiful colorful pattern, though threatening!

  9. Denise says:

    Thank you for sharing these beautiful flowers with us, they are all beautiful photos.

  10. Marilyn says:

    We often call these moss roses. Mine seem to be blooming a lot with lots of seeds. Hope some will come up next spring!β™₯β™«

  11. Anita says:

    Hi Kanak,

    Nice to see you back. I’ve begun to slack on my blog. Your posts are now going to keep me logging in more regularly. Lovely pictures. You have so many colours of portulacas! Aren’t they wonderful. They don’t require too much care. Yet they liven up the garden so much.

Leave a Reply

