Home Grown!

Nothing gives me the greatest pleasure than to pick the (golden) fruits of my labour!. Now that the season of the Indian blackberry and mangoes are over, it’s time for these very sweet guavas. I like to pick them when they turn to this luscious yellow. We have them fresh, never having being too fond of jam and other sweetened stuff. All the fruit that I get from my trees are shared with relatives and friends. The birds and the wasps also get their share. Fallen fruit are savoured by ants and a few species of butterflies. My three trees did not disappoint this year so I know next year it’s  going to be even better!

The canavalia beans need to be picked when they are very tender. When picked they should come off easily. If you need to struggle a bit then you know that it’s no longer tender and will surely go to waste! If left on the vine, they can easily grow to be a foot long! Compare the size of the dried bean (above) that I’ve kept for the seeds.

Lastly, the bitter gourd vine  ( most likely a gift from the wind because I didn’t plant it there) is doing really well and going every which way. I’m keeping it in check with a narrow vertical trellis placed next to the wall. Like its name, the taste of this vegetable is bitter. But having been used to many such vegetables and herbs from a young age, we love the taste. They come in many sizes, some are longer and some are really tiny. The leaves and tender shoots are also edible.

As for other garden produce, I am looking forward to the sponge gourd and a sweet variety of banana locally known as “Jahaji”. I hope I’ll be able to share the photos when the time comes….

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Home Grown!

  1. One says:

    Congratulations for a fantastic harvest! I always think they must be very nutritious if they are home grown.

  2. Pradeepa says:

    How wonderful it would be to have your own homegrown veggies.

  3. Anita says:

    Great Harvest, Kanak! Other than jam, I would add a few pieces of guava to my curd rice and bhel puri. Did you know that guava is not native to India. It comes from Mexico and South America. I came to know of this recently and was rather surprised as I’d always thought it was an Indian fruit. But then I was further surprised to hear that even groundnuts, for which we have so many traditional recipes, were introduced only in the 16th century to India from South America.

    I like the shape of the beans you have. We don’t find them here in Chennai. Would love to try them.

    • kanak7 says:

      Anita…thanks for the info. All along I’d never really found out about the origin of the guava…or the peanut, for that matter. I’d love to send you the seeds of the beans.:)

  4. Sharmila says:

    wow …. nothing is better than home grown vegies n fruits !! The taste really differs … but i like guave when its little green. And those beans they can be eaten raw … they look delicious ! i too love bitter gourd – esp. when cooked with many vegetables (sukto – in bengali).

    i tried to grow “kakrol” …. the plant is having many flowers but the fruit turns orange in two to three days after the flower dies. Do you have any idea why? My uncle from karimganj brought it for me …. at thier place it produced many kakrol. Don’t know what’s happening !

    Enjoy ur home grown vegies n fruits n waiting to see those “Jahaji” !!

  5. I have never seen bitter gourd before! Is there sweet gourd too? Looks like you will be eating good for awhile!

    • kanak7 says:

      Ginny…there’s no sweet gourd but other gourds will qualify as ‘sweet’ compared to the bitter gourd.;) There are quite a few varieties available during this season.

  6. Radha says:

    How lovely. Nothing like fresh vegetables. The crunch when you cut them is worth the effort. I love all the veggies and the guavas.

Leave a Reply

