Fungi!

This year I haven’t taken many pictures of all the fungi sprouting in my garden. But seeing Wendy’s post recently I was curious to see if I had( in my archives) anything really interesting. These  are what I found. Most of the colourful ones were taken last year.

Coral on a dried mango twig.

The kind of ‘scallops’ that we see around here….

So much like jelly! The growth is on a mango branch.

Pretty white fungi on my Indian Blackberry tree.

This was taken in July this year in my hometown where the old and gnarled trees holds surprises such as these….

These are tiny and bright and come in the most cheerful shade of yellow.

 I’ll be  attending a ceremony associated with the passing away of my mother-in-law. So I won’t be posting for about a week. I’m leaving tomorrow and I’ll get back to my comments and blog visits after the rituals are over.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fungi!

  1. anney says:

    Are some of them edible?

  2. radha says:

    They could add so much colour to a dish, if only we knew they were not toxic!!

  3. I love the ones in the first picture, with the white stripe edges. And also the pretty yellow ones! I am very sorry to hear about your mother-in-law, i hope you have a safe and uneventful trip. My brother-in-law just died, and his funeral is today, so we are kindred spirits in a way.

  4. Anita says:

    Goodness me. You have a whole range of colourful mushrooms.

  5. Stephanie says:

    They all look strange – shape and colour! especially the one that looks like jelly on the mango branch.

  6. Autumn Belle says:

    These are interesting finds. They remind me of the wild forests. I use snow fungus and wood fungus (dried ones) in my cooking. As regards to the living fungi, I wouldn’t know which ones are edible. Wishing you a safe journey!

  7. lotusleaf says:

    Wow! They challenge the flowers in their colour and beauty! Super photos, Kanak.

  8. andrea says:

    Kanak, these are beautiful fungi! We have lots too in the property but i still haven’t seen this last yellow. I also took two shots last weekend of that ganoderma and some white ones! Mushrooms are beautiful.

  9. wendy says:

    I am so sorry to hear of your mother-in-law’s passing. Sending prayers to those of you who are left behind.

    Your fungi are so interesting and varied! I love the bright yellow ones and the scallops best.
    Have a safe trip.

  10. One says:

    They are all so beautiful and unique. There are lots of fungi here but totally different from the ones you show. I like the bright colors in these.

  11. birdy says:

    Very interesting species of fungi. Never observed these species in our area. Thanks for the sharing.

Leave a Reply

