Cooler Days Will Soon Be Here!

For a garden/nature blogger, the change of seasons is a subject that’s close to my heart. In my part of the world, these grass blooms signify the end of summer and the start of the much-welcome cooler weather. By the end of September and sometimes mid-September, one sees the pictures of the blooms on the front pages of most of our newspapers. Surely everyone must be waiting for a visual ‘sign’! Despite knowing that the weather gods will surely be kinder, the ‘sign’ is a reassurance that respite cometh! 

Kohua ( Saccharum spontaneum) as the grass is known is Assam, is a perennial grass, growing up to three metres in height with spreading rhizomatous roots. The grass quickly colonises exposed silt plains created each year by the retreating monsoon floods. In the hilly areas (where this picture was taken) the plant grows on the edge of streams on rocky banks. As I took the picture from the train it was raining and they were bent with all the weight of moisture.The blooms look beautiful especially where large areas are covered by this plant. The uses of this plant are that the reeds are made into mats, screens, and thatch roofs.

Another sign that summer is leaving. The last of the turmeric blooms in my hometown. Soon the plant will die and the new shoots will appear in March/April.

We are still getting a bit of rain and I’ve been spared the task of watering my plants twice a day!  I’m happy with the rain water I’ve collected and stored this year. During the dry and dusty winter months, guess whose plants will look lush and green, and h-a-p-p-y?!!

 

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in seasons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cooler Days Will Soon Be Here!

  1. One says:

    The first photo looks like a painting. Beautiful! Will you be seeing Fall? Unfortunately we don’t have seasons here.

  2. Autumn Belle says:

    Beautiful scenery from a moving train. Whenever I am travelling in a train, I love to sit in the opposite direction and enjoy the views moving further and further away from me. And the familiar scenes of hometown will evoke sentimental feelings.

  3. Today is the last day of summer here. The turmeric flower is stunning! Is this the same plant that the spice comes from?

  4. lotusleaf says:

    That picture from the train is so beautiful, like a painting. The grass is so special to Assam too. Turmeric hardly shows any flowers here:(

  5. islandgal246 says:

    I too can’t wait for the cooler season. Like you Kanak I don’t have to water my plants regularly and my water bill has fallen from US$ 260.00 to around $85.00 a month. That grass is beautiful and I just love the movement it makes, reminds me of the white fountain grass we have here. I also have some turmeric growing in containers and I can’t wait to see the flowers. Have a great weekend my friend.

  6. Beautiful captures as always. It’s always delightful to see the seasons in different countries! One of the things that I enjoy so much about blogging. Hope you have a lovely weekend!

    Sylvia

Leave a Reply

