Today’s Flowers/Pink, Coral & Green

I love to use flowers around the house. These freshly-cut anthuriums liven up up one of the corners in the living room.

The pink ixora isn’t in full bloom yet but it’s attracting a whole lot of pretty visitors!

I picked up the fallen blooms of the Coral jasmine from my sister’s garden. Throughout summer, its fragrance fills the garden in the evenings. This is the time for the blooms to slow down. The flowers are edible and is a good addition to fish curries. They are also dried and stored away for later use. The taste is mild with a hint of bitterness. But only slightly so. Below is the fish curry I made with the blooms.

My collection of ferns and other foliage plants are still looking refreshingly green thanks to the rain we’ve had this year. I usually don’t include foliage in my Today’s Flowers post but I think I can make an exception today.:)

To see flowers from across the planet, click here.

My thanks to the TF team: Santilli-Pupo-Denise-Sandy Carlson

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Today’s Flowers/Pink, Coral & Green

  1. Ginny says:

    The foliage is beautiful and lush, all kinds of shades and textures. Here, jasmine is associated with romance and wonderful fragrance. Those collected blooms are beautiful!

  2. I can just imagine the lovely fragrance of all of the jasmine you picked…delightful!

  3. Anthuriums would brighten a corner for sure. 🙂

  4. Maria says:

    Beautiful pictures! The fish curry with the jasmine blossoms looks great! I also love the fresh green colour of the ferns!

  5. One says:

    Now I am wishing I have those fragrant jasmine. Your ferns are truly lovely. Love those delicate ones which I don’t have.

  6. Nice photos, especially I like the second, with butterfly.

    Regards and best wishes

  7. Indrani says:

    We call them Shiuli phool. 🙂
    Lovely shots.

  8. Andrea says:

    I don’t particularly like my food to smell like perfumed, but i love those scents in the room. That variegated small plants looking like Caladium at the lowest corner, what do you call it. I like to have it too, might as well look for it is nurseries here. I am sure i have already seen it somewhere, though not sure where.

  9. Denise says:

    Wonderful post, so interesting, and your photos are lovely. Thanks for sharing.

  10. radha says:

    The anthuriums do make a nice arrangement. I have generally seen them long stemmed, but this is nicer and compact. Lovely foliage too.

  11. Arija says:

    That looks like a delicious curry. Your garden as always looks deliciously lush and what a lovely butterfly!

    The news about my sister is not good. She is recovering from the op. but unfortunately the growth was not benign and now there will be six weeks of radiation and chemo. Her left side is not fully functioning and her speech is a little slurred. These things we hope will disappear as the swelling on the brain goes down. All I can do is pray for the greatest good of all concerned.
    Thank you for asking.

  12. The Anthuriums are beautiful, and I like foliage plants too. I used to have a black persian cat, Ebony, who loved Jasmine, we had a flowering Jasmine plant on the patio and he would spend time just sniffing at it, he loved it. That pic of the curry is giving me ideas, I love curry.

  13. Luna Miranda says:

    wow, i didn’t know jasmine is edible. the white jasmine, we call sampaguita, is the Philippines’ national flower.:p

    i love your ferns-so lush!

  14. The smell must have been heavenly!

  15. Beautiful AND delicious!

  16. MIRIAM LUIZA says:

    Gostei dos antúrios rosa, dos jasmins, das folhagens verdinhas e lindas.
    Não sabia que flores de jasmins são usadas na cozinha. O texto está claro e espontâneo.
    Lindo post.

  17. Anita says:

    Your garden looks very pretty. You got a lovely shot of the pink flowers and the yellow butterfly.
    Coral jasmine in fish curry! That’s something new I’ve learned today. I believe the coral jasmine has plenty of medicinal properties. Next time, I find these flowers, I’ll use them in my curries.

  18. I’ve never used Coral Jasmine in any food; but I love Jasmin Tea…

    Thanks for dropping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

