Roselle & Edible Fern

It’s that time of the year when these pretty veggies are available in the market. Although Roselle/Hibiscus sadariffa is popular in our region I have never grown them. Anything sour is not a hot favourite with my husband and sons. But we have local vendors who come selling their produce at our doorstep. They get the produce from farmers based in the outskirts of the city but whatever they bring are fresh and organic. These are actually the sepals of the flowers. Each sepal cup is about an inch in diameter. These sepals are used in making juices, jelly, wine, and squash. This  African native has become naturalized in Asia, tropical America, and Australia.

Anything that is sour goes into making chutney. I love the combination of sweet and sour tastes. Combine that taste with this gorgeous deep colour that says Celebrate! The bowl sits on a bed of roselle leaves which are also edible. These leaves will be used for a tasty fish curry later.The  ingredients used  for the chutney are the same as in tomato chutney in one of my earlier posts.

Another leafy vegetable popular in our region is this edible fern/Diplazium esculentum. I have posted about this before. The fern grows in damp, shady areas and is considered to be highly nutritious. The other vegetables in the basket are colocasia stems and water spinach (wrapped in a leaf).

A combination of steamed fern with crushed peanuts, onions, salt, and diced chillies makes a wonderful summer salad. Sometimes I also toss in  some pieces of ripe mango or papaya.


If you’re interested in knowing more about roselle you can read this wonderful post by Titania.….

http://titania-lavenderandvanilla.blogspot.com/2011/04/rosella-hibiscus-sabdariffa-rosella-jam.html

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Roselle & Edible Fern

  1. andrea says:

    Kanak, i love eating the fern salad, have some ferns in our area looking like it but still don’t know if it is the one. I am afraid to taste as it might not be the same species.

  2. lotusleaf says:

    Wow! That basket of roselles looks so attractive! It is called Gonkura here, and people of Andhra Pradesh are very fond of the chutney made from its leaves. The edible fern salad looks so mouth-watering!Have a fun weekend!

  3. This is all so new to me. The red is a very pretty color, but I have never heard of eating ferns steamed or any other way. I like learning things like this, and you show good pictures!

  4. Kanak that all look so delicous – I love chutney but I’m sure it would taste so different to our chutneys.

  5. The ‘pucuk paku’ vege is one of my favourite dishes. Taste really good with sambal.

  6. Anita says:

    Everything you’ve written about here is completely new to me. Never thought there was edible fern. Thank you for this very interesting post.

  7. Trudi says:

    Hi Kanak; an interesting post about edibles not so well known. Fantastic looking and I am sure also tasy chutney; it just oozes goodness. Also love and admire the salad packet; wonderfully wrapped in a leaf, the colocasia and fern, goodness I have never tasted.The salad looks so very appetizing and I love the idea of adding Mango or other fruit which enhances it.
    Thank you Kanak, it is a pleasure. ♥Trudi.

Leave a Reply

