Today’s Flowers/ Blooms From The Wild

Welcome to Today’s Flowers! All the pictures in today’s post are those wild ones we find growing on either roadsides or on the edge of water bodies.

The Cleome or Spider flower was blooming in the backyard garden in my hometown in September. They come in several shades of lavender or pink. The rest of the pictures were taken a few days ago in the outskirts of our city.

A dragonfly sits on the commonest of them all, Lantana camara. The plant is one of the most invasive weeds in our region.

Lavender beauty in the wild. Two more shots of the same plant can be seen below.

This one reminded me of the American beautyberries that I had seen on several blogs. Looking up online I found out that the Callicarpa (beautyberry) is a genus of shrubs and small trees in the family Verbenaceae. They are native to east and south east Asia ( where the majority of the species occur), Australia, south-east North America, and Central America. ~ Wiki.

Comparing pictures on the net, this plant looks like Callicarpa macrophylla or Urn fruit beautyberry.

A variety of Rattlepod growing near a pond. There were several ants on the yellow blooms. The picture below shows the plants growing on the edge of a field not far from a lake. There were several large carpenter bees on the blooms. I only managed to include one in my picture.:(

To see the most spectacular blooms from across the planet click on the logo below. My thanks to the TF team for hosting this wonderful meme.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Today’s Flowers/ Blooms From The Wild

  1. Carletta says:

    The color of the Cleome is lovely!
    Beautiful shots and a great capture of the dragonfly!

  2. Ginny says:

    Finally you have posted a plant that we have lots around here, and I have done a post on it, the spider plant. They are pretty, though a but gangly. Your other flowers are so pretty! Why do they Call that one Rattlepod? Do the pods rattle?

  3. Very informative. Love these shots from the wild.

  4. guild-rez says:

    “Gardens and flowers have a way of bringing people together.”
    Thank you for your wonderful pictures!!
    Love the colour of the Cleome – spider plant.
    Very delicate indeed!!

  5. You have a lovely cleome there. The flowers look like sparkling. Plants growing in the wild are strong plants. Nice pics of them!

  6. Anita says:

    Beautiful flowers. Never seen anything like the spider flower before.

  7. Trudi says:

    Cleome is such an elegant looking flower. Last year I had a beautiful bush, grown from a cutting from my neighbour. The cleome has packed it in and lost her elegance, huddled in a brown mess on the ground. It was sort of a miniature, very pretty, but I was never able to do it justice with a photo. I will ask Miss V. for another cutting. I also like your wildflowers. I am quite keen on them as I have an area which I can call my “wild garden” anything is allowed there to grow…to a certain point. Grass hoppers, snails and others can feed to their hearts content without being chased with chili spray! Kanak, happy gardening.♥Trudi.

  8. Hi Terra farmer

    Wonderful flowers!
    I would like to complete my Guest Friend list for this year.
    I’m inviting you to participate as our Guest Friend of TODAY’S FLOWERS.

    Thanks
    Luiz

Leave a Reply

