Our World Tuesday/Diwali

Welcome to Our World Tuesday! Next week we’ll be celebrating Diwali or the Festival of Lights. So I’ve included some of the ways I light up:) around the house. With all the illumination it’s a joy to see all the houses decorated with lights. The name of the festival comes from the diyas or earthen lamps (picture below) that are lit during this festival.

There are various legends regarding the origin of this joyous festival. One is that it commemorates the return of Lord Rama with Sita and Lakshman to Ayodhya after a fourteen year exile and vanquishing the demon king Ravana. The people of the kingdom lit earthen lamps and burst crackers in celebration. (The link on the word Diwali will lead you to the details). It also signifies the victory of good over evil.

The next two pictures have been taken from a magazine, the Indian edition of Good Housekeeping, one of my absolute favourites! With the festival round the corner some pages have been devoted to lighting ideas.

I thought I’d try out some of the ideas and look, our bar top is full of beans!! I usually use shells and pebbles as a ‘bed’ for my candles but the magazine photos have made me a little more creative with things from my kitchen.;)

Even a simple bowl of rice pudding looks festive placed next to these candles.

Click on the logo below and be transported to landscapes and legends,  and much, much more! My thanks to the Our World team for hosting this wonderful meme.

Our World Tuesday Graphic

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Occasion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Our World Tuesday/Diwali

  1. hannah uk says:

    Hello there,
    I was so hoping to get next to your wonderful thumbnail, but was too slow off the mark 🙂
    Such terrific images of your celebration.The candles make it so festive and solemn at the same time. Wish I could come and take a quick look at it and feel the atmosphere.

  2. radha says:

    Nice ideas for diyas. Will try out some of them.

  3. Andrea says:

    Happy Diwali Festival Kanak, may you be fully blessed!

  4. Gosh, beans never looked so pretty. And is the first picture something you did? So beautiful!!!

  5. stardust says:

    You have various creative way of lighting. I like to see the faint wavering light of candles, and candle light dinner, too, which makes meals look more delicious. When is Diwali in 2012? Have a nice Diwali, Kanak.

    Yoko

  6. Autumn Belle says:

    In Malaysia, we call it Deepavali and it falls on the 26th Oct. You have inspired me with such great ideas and ways to use candle lights. I think I’m going to try it out too. Happy Diwali, Kanak!

  7. eileeninmd says:

    Happy Diwali, Kanak! The festival of lights is beautiful. I love all the candles. Lovely photos, thanks for sharing.

  8. lotusleaf says:

    Very creative diyas! Happy Divali, Kanak!
    I am a little late in commenting this time as I was bogged down with exam papers to mark.

  9. Anita says:

    So many pretty lamps! I love your idea of beans. Happy Diwali!

  10. Fergiemoto says:

    Thank you for sharing this information! I like learning about other cultural traditions.

Leave a Reply

