Today’s Flowers/Adeniums

after the rain

Welcome to Today’s Flowers! All the images in today’s post are from my latest holiday in Chennai. I thought I’d take dozens and dozens of photos but the rain played spoilsport and I came back with only a quarter of what I thought I’d take!! But here they are smiling after all the drenching and maybe a bit of battering..by the wind and the rain.

Adenium obesum or Desert Rose seem to do very well in Chennai. This is an attractive plant with swollen succulent stems. It’s a native of Africa and the Middle East. No wonder adeniums love hot, tropical climates and a well-drained soil.

The bonsai area of this botanical garden that I visited (there’s a post coming up) had an amazing display of adeniums.

This dark pink is the most common among all the adeniums that I see in our area. I was glad to see a white one (below) as white adeniums are not seen in our area.

To see the most fabulous floral images, head over to http://flowersfromtoday.blogspot.com/. My thanks to the TF team: Santilli-Pupo-Denise-Sandy Carlson

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Today’s Flowers/Adeniums

  1. lotusleaf says:

    Kanak, congratulations for getting your lovely pictures featured on Today’s Flowers!You seem to have taken a lot of beautiful photos in Chennai too. The white adenium is gorgeous! They do well in dry tropical places.

  2. Autumn Belle says:

    Yay, you’re back, Kanak! I love desert roses which I think are easier to grow than roses. The white one is lovely. This reminds me to get a white adenium for my garden too.

  3. We don’t have these beautiful flowers here, though that does look like a rose in the last picture! But I am very interested in the trees in the Bonsai Garden, I have never seen multiple stems twisted around like that!!

  4. Indrani says:

    Great variety, always a feast to eyes.

  5. Bernieh says:

    The white Desert Rose is just beautiful.

  6. Anita says:

    Have been to this botanical garden, but had not noticed the white adeniums there.

  7. Arija says:

    How lovely your feature plant is Kanak. The white one has the dearest ruffles to it’s petals.
    Great to see Your Guest Friend pictures as well, congrats.

  8. eileeninmd says:

    Gorgeous collection of flowers from your trip. Lovely photos, happy Sunday!

  9. Carver says:

    Wonderful sequence of flowers from your trip and I also love the shots you used as host on today’s flowers today.

  10. craftista says:

    Simply lovely. I see a lot of pinks and reds of it here, but rarely white…

  11. Pat Smith says:

    I think rainy days make for some more interesting photos. Those are great.

  12. Love your beautiful and unusual (to me) flowers featured today in Today’s Flowers. Congratulations! I didn’t know the name of this adenium, but a large specimen of white with magenta edges blooms in our local (Seattle, USA) Volunteer Park Conservatory in their succulent and cactus room. The amazing thing about it is how long its blooming period is. Months!

  13. MIRIAM LUIZA says:

    Perfeitas imagens! Parabéns!

  14. Pat says:

    What beautiful flowers! I am unfamiliar with all of the, so thank you for sharing them.

  15. Pat says:

    Er, that should have read, “I am unfamiliar with all of them, so….”

  16. wendy says:

    Lovely flowers. I like rain on the leaves and petals. Thank you for sharing.

  17. One says:

    They are all gorgeous! I only have the pink ones. I saw the white and red ones for sale and are extremely pricey.

  18. Very pretty adeniums! And I have the pink one also haha… Btw I hope Chennai is not so hot for you.

  19. lovely adenium blooms. I seldom see the white one 🙂

Leave a Reply

