The Indian Gooseberry

 

Fruits of the season. Our region abounds in sour fruit. One of the winter fruits available now is the Indian gooseberry/Phyllanthus emblica locally known as amloki. The small container in the foreground shows the flesh and the seed. The fruit is reputed to have the highest content of vitamin C of any natural occurring substances in nature.

Amla, as it is known throughout India, grows on a medium-sized tree with small feather-like leaves. It has gnarled trunks and spreading branches. The tree is common throughout the subcontinent, except in the arid regions. The flowers bloom from March-May and the fruit ripens in the cooler season.The fruit which is fleshy and acidic is made into pickles and preserves. As children I have many happy memories of picking the fruit in winter along with my cousins and siblings and relishing that very acidity with chillies and salt. I don’t think I can be that brave now.:)

Amla hair oil and shampoos are traditionally believed to nourish the hair and scalp and prevent premature greying.

This is my entry for Our World Tuesday. Click on the link and see what’s happening/growing in every participant’s corner of the world!

 

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Indian Gooseberry

  1. ladyfi says:

    Oh, that fruit looks delicious!

  2. Arija says:

    An interesting fruit Kanak. As children we too we’re oddly starved for acidic fruit. I used to eat lemons whole.

  3. One says:

    Reading the above comment reminds me of what I used to do too. I used to eat lime when I was a child. Not anymore. Now I have to turn it into a sweet drink first before consuming.

  4. Indrani says:

    It is a life saver. Great post.

  5. Esther Garvi says:

    Wow, that looks delicious! What do they taste like?

  6. These are rather pretty, and rather delicate looking. I have never heard of them.

  7. Leovi says:

    I loved this picture. I wish you a happy night.

  8. joey says:

    Don’t have gooseberries but love gooseberry jam! How ’bout you, Kanak?


  9. · Nice photo. They taste good
    Sorry bad English

    · reagrads

    Torn Crystal & Absent Glance
    ________________________________
    ·

  10. lotusleaf says:

    Very stylish post as always, Kanak! Amla pickle is my favourite. I am down with viral fever and so was not able to look at any of my favourite blogs.

  11. Anita says:

    Somehow I can’t get down to eating a whole amla at one go. I find it too sour for my taste buds. But since I know how good it is for me, I try and eat half at a time. Perhaps I should try out Amla pickle.

  12. islandgal246 says:

    Your gooseberries are interesting and they are just as acid as ours. We too ate them with salt and pepper as kids 🙂 I wonder if yours can grow on my island?

Leave a Reply

