Blooming Friday/Cold Feet!

The Yumthang Valley in October

Welcome to Blooming Friday where the theme today is Cold Feet! I usually talk about all things floral and foliar but today I’m opting for the literal translation and taking the chance to share some holiday photos taken  seven years ago. This is the Yumthang Valley in the state of Sikkim. Sikkim is situated in the eastern Himalayas. Yumthang is in the northern part of the state at an altitude of 11,800 ft. close to Tibet and this is where the tree line ends.

From March to June thousands of rhododendrons, primulas, and other high altitude flowers bloom. However clear skies and mountain views are best in October. The state flower is the rhododendron and there are 24 varieties of this flower in the valley.Much as we appreciate mountain scenery the cold is something that I cannot endure. Any mention of words associated with winter reminds me of the freezing (Northerners, don’t laugh! ) night in Lachung, a small town we stopped at before proceeding to Yumthang. That was the Coldest Night I Ever Experienced!! Yumthang is closed between December to March due to heavy snowfall.

The river that flows past the valley

To see other participants’ interpretations, click on the badge below. My thanks to Katarina for hosting this fun meme.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blooming Friday/Cold Feet!

  1. Lisa says:

    What a beautiful place !!! I don´t like cold either, this winter is great, this week +10 degrees C. Last year we have – 23 i november, brrr cold !!! Have a nice weekend !
    Lisa/Lisas trädgård

  2. Diana says:

    Crystal clear and beautiful, Kanak. Thankfully we do not get much cold here, but our fall and winters offer lots of rain. We do have an occasional snow, but it melts quickly within several days… and that we prefer. Hope all is well.

  3. mia says:

    A rhododendron valley and mountain must offer a beautiful colorful sight when blooming. And I’m not laughing, honestly, but I couldn’t help but wonder, are we human so different? I can’t stand warmer weather above 25 C for more than a week.. But colder then minus 20 C isn’t my favourite either..
    Enjoy your weekend 🙂

  4. AnnCharlotte says:

    It looks like a beautiful place.
    Have a great weekend:)

  5. Beautiful pictures! And I love that bridge, can cars drive on it or is it just for walking?

  6. anki-itte says:

    I think it’s a wonderful place, beautiful with all flowers.

  7. Kanak, this pic reminds me very much of Nepal (Tibet’s neighbour!) in summer. I have walked across such river before there. My feet were hurting due to the bed of rock below as I was walking across the water. At the end I was glad I did it.

  8. One says:

    Lovely landscape. I am used to the heat. Sometimes we travel to the highlands to enjoy the cool air which is around 18C.

  9. Gela says:

    So lovely landscape, the wather looks really cold. Have a nice weekend/Gela

  10. Katarina says:

    Thanks for sharing this beautiful landscape with us! It’s really impressive! I’m so afraid of heights, so I don’t think I would have dared to walk on that bridge. But I sure like the look of it!

  11. lotusleaf says:

    Beautiful pictures! It reminded me of our holiday in Sikkim 5 years ago!

  12. Anita says:

    Great pictures! Every second person I know seems to have been on a holiday to Sikkim (thanks to all the recent airline offers). Now these pictures are the last straw(s). I’ve got to plan my Sikkim holiday soon.

  13. Your pictures are lovely – and cold is cold, no matter where you live 🙂

  14. Dear Kanak, What a strikingly beautiful part of the world you share. I hope you had a lovely holiday there. I have missed visiting your blog but hope to catch up soon. Hugs, Carol

Leave a Reply

