Mexican Oleander

The Mexican Oleander/Thevetia peruviana is another common plant that you find growing in our gardens and  on roadsides. It’s a small tree with long, dark green leaves. The ones with yellow flowers are most common but there are ones with white and peach-coloured blooms also. I came across this one in on of my relative’s garden about a month ago. The plant is poisonous but the the fact that it’s easy to grow makes it one of the most popular plants in tropical countries.

Click here and check out what’s blooming in other corners of the world. My thanks to the TF team: Santilli-Pupo-Denise-Sandy Carlson

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mexican Oleander

  1. lotusleaf says:

    That is a beautiful colour. Although it is poisonous, the plant has some medicinal uses.I remember my friend’s mother applying the ground leaves for my friend’s ringworm!

  2. It is beautiful, and so perfectly symmetrical!!!

  3. One says:

    I’ve seen only the yellow one and thought they were beautiful. This is even more so.

  4. Indrani says:

    Nice color. I have seen the yellow ones.

  5. Andrea says:

    Hi Kanak, we have it here too but only the yellow. I see them common long ago, but this time somehow they are getting to be scarce.

  6. ladyfi says:

    What an amazing shot! Gorgeous flower.

  7. Esther Garvi says:

    We have yellow ones here. So very pretty!

  8. Ms Burrito says:

    Lovely shot of a beautiful flower.

    Late visiting from Today’s Flower. Come see the Lilies at my page when you get a chance. Have a good week.

  9. Linda Balk says:

    I had one of these in an old empty lot in Florida and couldn’t identify it until now. How toxic is this thing? We just love the color and hoped to propogate more until reading that it can make people sick that come into contact with it. Now we are afraid to keep it. How dire are the consequences of contact with this plant? I have heard of oleander causing deaths and avoided having them around.

Leave a Reply

