Blooming Friday/In Remembrance

Amaryllis drenched in April rain

Memory is a way of holding onto the things you love, the things you are, the things you never want to lose.~ from The Wonder Years

These amaryllis lilies have been in my parents house for as long as I can remember. Over the years, other lilies in other colours have joined the vibrant brood but when I think of the seasons in the town that I grew up, it’s these reds that come to mind. Once the chill of winter would pass, the winds would start to blow in late February till mid- March. That’s when these lilies would start to bloom and would do so till the end of April. These flowers are an association with my family and my childhood. These photos were taken about a week after my father passed away in April 2010.

To see more posts on Blooming Friday, visit Katarina’s ROSES AND STUFF.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blooming Friday/In Remembrance

  1. andrea says:

    Hi Kanak, it looks the same as ours although slightly different in color. Ours is orange-red. How i wish I can have this very red one! Ours are also in the grounds since i don’t know when. But because we don’t have winter, they lost the leaves during the dry season, then flower profusely like these after the first heavy rains. How lovely if we can make them flower 2x a year, do you agree?

  2. Gunilla says:

    Hi Kanak.

    So beautiful lilies.I like the colour.
    And a nice memory of your father.

    Have a great weekend

    Gunilla

  3. AnnCharlotte says:

    Lovely flowers and a lovely memory….
    Have a great weekend 🙂

  4. berit says:

    Lovely flowers a nice memory of your father.
    Have a nice day!!

  5. Bjørg Nina says:

    Heisann!

    Lilies are lovely ;:OD)

    I write you in Norwegain, The words about Blogger’s Sunday Walk is in English on my blog!

    Lyst til å ta en tur ut i naturen med kamera på starten av det nye året ?
    Bli med på vinterens Blogger’s Sunday Walk!

    Mer informasjon finnes på bloggen min,litt her og litt der ;:OD)

  6. Gela says:

    Lovely lilies, I really like the beautyful color. Have a nice weekend/Gela

  7. Katarina says:

    Kanak, those lilies are beautiful – I’ve never seen them growing in a border like this before. We grow them in pots for Christmas mainly, as they wouldn’t survive in our climate.
    It’s a lovely way of remembering your parents…

  8. Miło, że te piękne kwiaty przypominają Ci Ojca. U nas mogą rosnąć one tylko w doniczkach w domu. Pozdrawiam

    Pleased that these beautiful flowers remind you of the Father. With us they can grow only in pots at home. Yours

  9. mia says:

    Amaryllis are a true beautie when flowering. For me they remeber me of Christmas. What sweet childhood memory they must offer and I hope remebering your father brings back good memories for you too. It looks marvelous to see so many of them in one spot 🙂

  10. Eva Linnea says:

    Lovely memory! Best regards from Eva Linnea

  11. Your flower is very beautiful. Thanks for this greatpost.

  12. Anita says:

    Beautiful colour! And a nice way of remembering your family.

Leave a Reply

