Our World Tuesday/Striking Gold

Black-hooded Golden Oriole

Who’d have thought that something as mundane as checking out my sister’s garden would spring such a pleasant surprise? Apart from lemons, eggplants, chillies, butterflies, and maybe a few ripe bogori, I didn’t expect to strike gold! No alchemy here. Just pure unblemished golden moment. One is never prepared for such moments, really! Although my point-and-shoot was clutched in my hands, the sight of this Black-hooded Golden Oriole on a small hibiscus bush so close to me made me fumble with the “On” button on my camera giving this beauty enough time to fly away to this tree a little distance away. Hence the blurry picture.I have seen other beautiful birds on this spot before but this oriole is definitely the most spectacular!

N.B. Bogori/Zizyphus jujuba is a fruit that ripens during this season.

This post is linked to Our World Tuesday. Click on the badge below and see what’s happening in other corners of the planet. My thanks to the wonderful hosts who make this possible.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Our World Tuesday/Striking Gold

  1. Mark Willis says:

    What a beautiful bird. I can imagine you being in a hurry to photograph it… This is where the tele-photo lens becomes attractive!

  2. wendy says:

    Oh, I can just picture you, fumbling with the on/off button – I’ve done that so often myself! I’m so glad you were able to capture that oriole. It’s so colourful!

  3. I’m just back from sick leave and catching up. I love your New Year’s Delights flowers, and especially the way you made 2012 from your flowers!!! Wishing you the very best in the New Year!

  4. hiraman says:

    What a beauty? Feel jealous. Thanks for sharing the pic.

  5. ladyfi says:

    What a beauty! Just fabulous.

  6. Leovi says:

    Yes, beautiful Golden Oriole. Greetings.

  7. Indrani says:

    The color is good. Better luck next time. 🙂

  8. Lovely colorful surprises are the best…

  9. Ruby says:

    Kanak, lucky you. It’s beautiful and I just love the colour…We saw it at Nina’s but by the time I was ready with Arun’s gear (you know how it is)it flew away:)
    Ruby.

  10. I always wonder how the feathers can be coloured naturally and so striking that way. This bird is definitely a beauty 😀 Have a great day!

  11. stardust says:

    Hello, Kanak! Oriole is such a beautiful, gold bird, I didn’t know it. The gold bird in the backdrop with silvery tint – your photo is lovely.

Leave a Reply

