Eating Up My Greens!:)

Around this time of the year, I do pick a few garden produce. This year, inspired by blog posts about small planting areas, I used more shallow wooden containers for growing coriander, lettuce, and potatoes.

Lettuce

There are only seven lettuce plants but the yield is enough for a family of three. (My first-born lives away from home).

As for my potato plants, they did very well and I was happy with the growth. Tender potato leaves taste good added to other vegetables and fried. In the photo below, I’ve added some to fried potatoes.

Tender potato leaves added to fried potatoes

 

Even the ubiquitous dal gets a makeover with the addition of spinach and coriander. The spinach seeds were given to me by Anita of Red Ripe Tomatoes.

Tomato

This year I didn’t take the trouble of sowing tomato seeds. Re-seeders spring up every year and I thought I’d give them a chance too. I’m not disappointed.

 

The picture of the potato plants was taken last month. The other day these were what I dug up. The bigger ones went into making two different dishes and the tiny ones were fried and relished! Next year, I might be blessed with a better harvest. There’s still a pile of wood that can be made into shallow planters…..

 

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Eating Up My Greens!:)

  1. Ginny says:

    Wow, you can eat really well with just what is in your garden. It all looks so healthy and good, too. i have never heard of eating potato leaves!

  2. andrea says:

    Oh you have a good harvest Kanak. So you can grow potatoes there, because we can only grown them in our cold highlands. But i didn’t know that potato tops can be eaten too! That is a lovely information. I still remember your lushly growing tomatoes in that little space, long ago! I also planted some tomatoes and they are very green and healthy with the manure from the goathouse.

  3. I love how much you are able to grow in not a large area..that is inspiring to me..maybe I can do some container gardens..I was wishing I could visit as I was looking at all the yummy food..lovely post Kanak…Michelle

  4. These photos make me hungry!

  5. Those are wonderful pictures (and I agree with Sandy!)….we had a raised bed garden for a few years when we lived in Oregon — it’s a great way to garden… the small defined spaces felt more manageable. We don’t garden at all anymore (getting old) but I do love to look at other people’s hard work! I came over from your other blog to try to find where you live… and I did. And I’m glad I found this one –enjoy both your blogs!

  6. wendy says:

    My goodness, what a lot of wonderful things you are growing in your garden! Our growing season has barely begun. Your potatoes look delicious!

  7. I am amazed with how productive your garden is! Good job and the greens and potatoes look really good… Happy cooking!

  8. Anita says:

    What a lovely green harvest. Had no idea one could eat potato leaves. I thought they were poisonous, like tomato leaves. I’ve tried my hand at potato but never succeeded. Maybe this year I will try again.

Leave a Reply

