Dragon Fruit for OWT

Although I’ve seen pictures of this exotic fruit on blogs, I came across it only recently at one of the supermarkets here. That delicious shade of pink was irresistible! Pitaya or Dragon fruit grows in a kind of cacti of the genus Hylocereus and are native to Mexico,Central America, and South America. But they are also increasingly being cultivated in south-east Asia. The fruit that I bought came from Thailand.

The fruit has a fleshy pulp and small black seeds. I had read that the taste would be a cross between a kiwi and a pear. But it was blander than anything I had ever tasted! Later, I learned that there are three kinds grown and the one I got is the one most commonly grown. One variety has yellow skin and white flesh, and the other has red skin with red flesh. The last is said to be the tastiest. Maybe our markets will be stocked with that variety too, in the future. Other names of this fruit are Strawberry Pear and Pinkberry.

For more posts on Our World Tuesday, click the badge below.

Our World Tuesday Graphic

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in fruit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Dragon Fruit for OWT

  1. jess says:

    i am interested to grow this fruit pls can you help me

  2. andrea says:

    But do you like it? I love it as an ornamental fruit, but sorry i don’t like its taste. There are already farmers here in our country who has wide areas planted to dragonfruit, but it is still expensive in the market. It is okay for me as i dont buy it.

  3. eileeninmd says:

    It is a pretty fruit but I like my fruit to have a natural sweetness. Thanks for sharing, have a great day!

  4. Indrani says:

    My mouth started watering as soon as I saw this. 😀
    Tasty fruit.

  5. lotusleaf says:

    My mouth also started watering when I saw your dragonfruit. I believe the plant is now available in some nurseries in Pune. Hope I’ll get one soon!

  6. Randy says:

    Never saw one of these before. I have eaten and enjoyed dried Dragonfruit, returned to buy many times. It was all red if I recall.

  7. Luna Miranda says:

    dragon fruit is attractive but i was disappointed by its bland taste.

  8. Carver says:

    What a beautiful fruit.

  9. Calling by as another Our World Tuesday participant, great composition, we enjoyed this fruit for the first time on a trip to Hong Kong.

  10. Ginny says:

    This is beautiful, and looks like something to decorate with rather than to eat!! Don’t know if I would like all those little seeds! I have heard of this but never seen one! Are they eaten raw or do you cook them?

  11. Visiting from Our World Tuesday. I’ve never eaten this fruit, but the colors are amazing.

  12. Titania says:

    Kanak, I grow the red one and it is absolutely delicious. You have to grow it yourself to get the best of it.aanyway they are so easily to grow. Try to get a cutting, have a look in the Internet how it is grown.It does not take lots of room, but it is worthwhile, we love the fruit; It can be grown treelike or as a climber.It makes also beautiful desserts which you can serve in its own little basket! I love them! T♥

  13. Sugata Goswami says:

    I agree with you. I tasted it in thailand and found it a bit too bland for my palette.

  14. Anita says:

    Never seen this fruit. Looks beautiful. But maybe I wont buy it even if I see it since you’ve warned me. I think our regular fruits like custard apple and sapota are so delicious but underrated because they grow so easily here.

  15. Pretty colors, but not so sure about all those little seeds…

  16. kimya says:

    Hi,I will grow this fruit. can you help me?How I can find seeds of it?

Leave a Reply

