The Purple Sapphire Butterfly And Spiny Spiders

I photographed this Purple Sapphire butterfly/Heliophorus epicles on an arum leaf in my parents’ backyard. From the group Lycaenidae (Blues), it’s a pretty common sight in gardens in my hometown, I’d often seen it on the tomato patch usually in the afternoons. Looking at the picture, one might think…but where’s the purple? It gets its name from the flash of purple on the upper surface of  the wings. The one pictured below was taken last year. Most of them look like that with wings open. There’s a slight variation in colour. my favourite bug website http://www.thaibugs.com has some great images of the different colour combinations.
There are many hoverflies during this season and as I tried to get a decent picture, I noticed, what looked like a Purple Sapphire, trapped in the clutches of a common garden spider. This area was heavily webbed!:) I imagined all the denizens to be in various stages of  being either hungry or satiated!
The kiss of death!But look, who’s playing peek-a-boo? It’s a colourful spiny spider (Gateracantha sp.) who’s checking out the tender betel nut tree.That yellow and the spiny ends surely makes it an eye-catcher!Here’s another one in full spiny regalia suspended from its sturdy www! It’s only during the rainy season that all kinds of bugs are seen all across the area. And in a dry garden seemingly devoid of any form of life, I was happy to get these images.

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Purple Sapphire Butterfly And Spiny Spiders

  1. speedcathollydale says:

    Awesome!

  2. Randy says:

    Kanak,

    Very cool butterfly! I’d just love to see it flying about.

  3. Susie says:

    Great images Kanak! How nice to see things with wings fluttering about. Nice spider pics too. Hope you are having a good weekend.

  4. Mildred says:

    Hi Kanak, Such amazing images. Such a delight to see these pictures from your home. Hope you have a nice day.

  5. FlowerLady says:

    Great pictures. Love the butterflies, but don’t want any of those spiders. 🙂

    FlowerLady

  6. These are such interesting creatures, Kanak! I don’t know what I’d do if I came upon one of those spiders…they are a bit scary looking! We don’t have those types here in VA so it would certainly be a huge shock! I love your nature photos and I looked at your last post with your blooms and it was lovely as well. Take care, Jan

    • kanak7 says:

      Jan! How lovely to hear from you. I hope all is well! Haven’t been browsing around Blotanical lately. Thank you for going through my older posts too. There’s a charm in every season but that fact is reinforced every time I visit my hometown. Maybe spiders are more active there around this time there. I loved shooting them, mainly because those pointed projections made them look more interesting.

      Catch up with you soon! Have a great day!

  7. Stephanie says:

    The butterfly in the first photo is captivating. I am not sure if she is resting or planning her next trip 😉 I like the colours on her wings.

  8. The Queen of Butterfly photos! You’re next to Randy (http://rlephoto.blogspot.com/) whom I admire for the butterflies and insect photos! They look fantastic

    • kanak7 says:

      Chandramouli, I’m grinning from ear to ear reading your comment! Thanks! That’s a HUGE compliment! I’m thrilled to bits! Randy is my all-time favourite too when it comes to bugs!

  9. lotusleaf says:

    Hidden Purple! Great pictures as usual!

  10. joey says:

    You always manage to find interesting ‘colorful’ tidbits, Kanak!

  11. Autumn Belle says:

    Kanak, I do enjoy seeing all the wildlife in your garden. You make them look so at home and beautiful. I still remember the gorgeous butterflies and bugs you capture in your posts. Keep them coming, my dear 🙂

    • kanak7 says:

      Autumn Belle, thank you so much! The most active butterflies now are the cabbage whites and the castor butterflies. I’m looking forward to photographing other varieties soon!

  12. rocksea says:

    oh the butterfly-spider story is beautiful. great pictures, kanak.

    🙂

Leave a comment