Our World Tuesday/The Hornbill Festival

The first week of December is when the neighbouring state of Nagaland celebrates the Hornbill festival. It is one of the biggest festivals of our region. Nagaland is a mountainous state and is inhabited by different tribes. The festival aims at showcasing all aspects of Naga life and culture in this festival..

Besides the display of traditional dances several stalls also exhibit Naga weaves and crafts. Flower shows, motor rally, fashion parades, beauty pageant, and a rock contest make this festival a favoured destination in December. The venue is at Kisama, not far from the capital, Kohima.

Waiting for their turn…the cold here in this part of the year is 4°C. The festival is named after the Great Indian Hornbill, one of the most famous birds found in the state.

All dressed up in traditional wear.

Click on the badge below and see other delights that our world has to offer. My thanks to the wonderful team that makes this happen……

Our World Tuesday Graphic

 

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Our World Tuesday/The Hornbill Festival

  1. Giga says:

    To wspaniałe, ze tradycja jest podtrzymywana. Bardzo ładne zdjęcia. Pozdrawiam

  2. lotusleaf says:

    Great photos, Kanak! I have always wanted to see the Hornbill festival. Maybe, some day..

  3. I really enjoyed this post and the traditional costumes…..really good shots of it also. Would love to see it in real.

  4. Indrani says:

    Interesting. Very nice to know about this festival with pictures.

  5. Martha Z says:

    When I first glanced at your pictures I thought these were a Pacific Island people, they do not look much like people from other parts of India either physically or in their dress. Once I realized that this area borders Burma I was less surprised though I hadn’t realized that India and Burma shared a border.
    I keep learning more from reading the blogs of others.

  6. Lovely traditional wear! 4°C is very, very chilly!

  7. So very interesting. Beautiful photos. Thank you.

  8. Carla says:

    What fun!! LOVE the photo of you, I can’t think of anything we do here in Texas with such tradition, hope you had lots of fun!

  9. Luna Miranda says:

    oh my, 4 deg C in this costume?! i admire the tribe’s dedication…must be really cold!
    it’s interesting that this is from India…well, it’s a huge country, after all.

  10. I too love learning about other areas and blog hopping is such a good way to do that.. thank you for sharing this….Michelle

  11. Pattu says:

    Came via”gardentropic”.
    Nice photographs. One gets to know about less know region of Nagaland ( in this part of south India).
    Thanks.

Leave a comment