Today’s Flowers/Flaming Reds!

Welcome to Today’s Flowers! I caught this swallowtail butterfly feeding on the red ixora. It’s a joy to see what kinds of butterflies it attracts. These red clusters are also the favourite watering hole for the sunbirds.

The Flame Violet (from the family of African violets) is blooming now. It’s a plant that loves the shade and is good for hanging baskets. Even without the blooms it’s a good-looking plant. As you can see from the photo the foliage is attractive.

To see more, head over to Today’s Flowers. My thanks to the TF team: Santilli: Pupo: Denise: Sandy Carlson

About Kanak Hagjer

Hello from north-east India! I love to blog about all things floral and foliar and sharing the beauty of my region is what I am most passionate about!
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Today’s Flowers/Flaming Reds!

  1. One says:

    That’s nice. You are the one who have insects in most of your posts and l like that.

  2. Beautiful reds. The swallowtail is certainly attracted to the ixora and I would imagine other insects are too. Great shots!

  3. Jama says:

    Lovely flowers and butterfly!

  4. Oh, I love the butterfly! And such beautiful flowers! Hope you’re enjoying a lovely weekend!

    Sylvia

  5. Beautiful and brilliant reds! I must say that I have never seen a red African Violet! All the ones i have seen are purple.

  6. I’ve not seen either of these flowers before. One of the many joys of international blog viewing.

  7. Luna Miranda says:

    vibrant reds! i love your capture of the butterfly on ixora.

  8. radha says:

    The red against the foliage stands out, doesn’t it?

  9. lotusleaf says:

    The butterfly and the red blooms of the Ixora make a lovely contrast!

  10. eileeninmd says:

    Gorgeous reds. I love the flowers and the photos. The first shot is my favorite. Have a happy Sunday!

  11. Arija says:

    If I were the envying kind, I could almost envy you the swallowtail butterfly on your lovely flower.

    Thank you for my birthday wishes and even more so for your prayers.
    PS I too am an infrequent visitor, mainly due to having to spend so much time with the Prof with Mr.Alzheimer taking over more and more.

  12. Denise says:

    Very beautiful flowers, and love the one with the butterfly. Thank you and have a great week!

  13. craftista says:

    Radiant reds! Love the butterfly too. 🙂

  14. Anita says:

    Nice shots. Didn’t know this was the swallowtail butterfly. I see it a lot around my place.

  15. Kim,USA says:

    The first photo in the Philippines we call it Santan, and I used to pick each tiny flower and taste the nectar. No wonder butterflies and bees like this flower the nectar is sweet ^_^

  16. wendy says:

    Beautiful shots! I love the vibrancy of red flowers.

  17. MIRIAM LUIZA says:

    Lindas fotos! Transmite vida intensa esse vermelho atraindo a borboleta.

  18. Lovely photos.

    Regards and best wishes

Leave a comment